RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2018, 09:36 AM   #1
RVJL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Nixa
Posts: 5
No reading on thermostat

Hey guys, help me out please. I'm new to the RV world. Just bought a 2014 Bullet BHS230. Am testing the systems out befor we go for our first trip. Gas stove works fine. haven't tried the water heater yet, nor gas powering the fridge. here's my problem...

I wanted to test the furnace as it was a bit cold this morning. But I have no readout on my digital thermostat. According to what I've read, I should be able to just switch it to "heat" and run the thermostat up to see if it works. Operator error? Breaker/fuse I need to check or what?

I've tested the range, and it has gas. The fridge works on electricity but I haven't tested it for gas yet. Will check hot water too.
__________________

RVJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 09:43 AM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 19,612
The thermostat operates on 12 VDC, so you either need a charged battery or shore power and the converter to supply the power to operate the thermostat.

That said, which thermostat do you have? If it's the Dometic digital, you must power it on with the bottom center button. The LED for HEAT should light and you should see a temperature LCD in the center LCD screen. Of not, there's no power to the thermostat, if you do have than and the temperature is increased above the room temperature, the furnace "should" turn on. If it doesn't, then check the 12 volt fuse panel in your power center, you might have a blown fuse for the furnace circuit.
__________________

__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 09:44 AM   #3
buvens
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 55
Most Thermostats work on low voltage so I would check to see if a fuse is blown.
Possibly could be a breaker but since the heater should work for boon docking, I would be more inclined to think along the lines of a fuse or fuse connection.
__________________
Trailer 2016 Bullet Premier 19FBPR
Truck 2001 1500 Silverado
buvens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 09:45 AM   #4
Terry W.
Senior Member
 
Terry W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pickens, SC
Posts: 289
Is the house battery good? Heater works of 12 volts for camping without power. Is the convertor working? Do other 12 volt items work like the lighting, water pump? Is there batteries in the thermostat itself?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
https://www.keystonerv.org/forums/pic...pictureid=1416 Terry & Kathy
2012 Avalanche 330RE
2006 F250 Super Crew Chipped, K&N
2-11 Pound 4 Legged Furry Childern
Pickens, SC
Terry W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 09:51 AM   #5
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 3,920
Is the battery disconnect near the batteries in the "on/use" position?
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 03:29 PM   #6
wawagoose
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wawa
Posts: 3
If an aftermarket unit it could need it's own battery, usually AA
wawagoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 08:16 PM   #7
RVJL
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Nixa
Posts: 5
OK, I ended up taking it in for a "check up" turns out that the air conditioner was replaced a year or so ago, and the thermostat didn't work with it. So they just left it un attached... from the furnace. All is well now.

THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP
RVJL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2018, 03:42 AM   #8
WNY Bullet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 489
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVJL View Post
OK, I ended up taking it in for a "check up" turns out that the air conditioner was replaced a year or so ago, and the thermostat didn't work with it. So they just left it un attached... from the furnace. All is well now.

THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP
So how do you now control the Air Conditioner?
__________________

__________________
Mike & Barb
2015 Keystone Bullet Premier 26RBPR
2017 Chevy Silverado LT Z71

WNY Bullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×