RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2016, 06:10 AM   #1
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
More Power

I have a new TT and I know when the unit is parked and not connected to power source that the power is shut off from the plugs. My question is why when I have the TT connected to an extension cord from the house the plugs still do not work? At the camp ground when connected to the power source there was no problem with the electricity.
__________________

LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 06:49 AM   #2
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
Check the GFI reset and/or the circuit breakers in the trailer power center.
__________________

__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 07:28 AM   #3
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
thanks, did that. But will check again to make sure I did not miss anything.
LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 07:31 AM   #4
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
You may have popped the house CB, so I would check that the cord to the trailer has power.
__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:06 AM   #5
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
Do you think it is due to extension cord isn't carry more amps? I am not sure what amp is the rating.
LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:43 AM   #6
Tbos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Solomons
Posts: 3,874
What size circuit are you plugging into for power from the house? If the house plug you are using doesn't have a switch turn your main CB in the TT off when you plug in. That prevents any arching that could pop a breaker or damage something. Make sure you have everything in the TT off and turn your main on. You should have power at the plugs at that time.
__________________
Tom
2019 Alpine 3651RL
2016 F350 CC DRW
Tbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 10:16 AM   #7
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
20 amp circuit, we mainly want to be able to run the frig prior to traveling and not the AC. because I know that would be too excessive. thanks
LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:06 AM   #8
Tbos
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Solomons
Posts: 3,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarrySharon View Post
20 amp circuit, we mainly want to be able to run the frig prior to traveling and not the AC. because I know that would be too excessive. thanks


I've run the AC and frig off 20 amps before. A friend does it all the time at his house. I had a plug on the house go bad once. Are you sure you still have power at your plug? Make sure 20-30 adapter hasn't gone bad too. I bit the bullet and had a 30 amp installed so I didn't have to worry anymore. Hope you figure it out.
__________________
Tom
2019 Alpine 3651RL
2016 F350 CC DRW
Tbos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 06:29 AM   #9
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
I can run both fridges, the 13.5K AC in the bedroom and the small draw of the converter off a 20A circuit. The surge protector readout indicates there are some reserve amps available.
__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 06:57 AM   #10
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
Thank you.
LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 10:05 AM   #11
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 11,230
See if you haven't tripped the breaker in the house. Unless you have a dedicated 20A plug for the RV you may have something running in the house on the same circuit as the plug you are using. If anything is running in the house, in addition to what you turn on in the RV, you can trip the breaker easily (yes, that is from personal experience). Depending on length, you need to have an extension cord with larger conductors. The one I use at my house has 12ga wire. I would suggest the same for you.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 12:37 PM   #12
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
Thank you, I did buy a an extension cord good for 15 amps. But no CB tripped. I am wondering if I don't get all my power till my slide is out. Just a crazy thought I had.
LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 01:51 PM   #13
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 11,230
To my knowledge the slide would have no bearing on getting power.

You need to get a meter and determine where the AC is...or isn't. If the unit worked fine at the campground and you have no breaker tripped in the RV or the house it points to the extension cord, your plug or your AC adapter for the trailer. A meter is pretty much a must have for your trailer IMO to troubleshoot lots of things. You can get one at Walmart, Home Depot etc. Not expensive; you can get a cheap one for $20 but I would opt for one a little more upscale. The cheap ones will do what you need to do. Just look for a digital multimeter/VOM (volt/ohm meter).

You may want to re-think your extension cord as well. Although it is rated for 15 amps if you have a 20 amp circuit coming to it and you have a 20 A breaker in the trailer you have made the extension cord the "weak link" in the circuit should you actually try to pull 20A (thinking AC etc.). You want the breakers to go first, not the cord to burn up.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 07:38 PM   #14
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
Is the electric switch on the water heater off? Did you ever get power?
__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 07:58 PM   #15
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 3,041
I never use an extension cord to plug the RV in. I have additional an additional 30 amp RV cord and use an adapter at the house plug. House electrical circuits can be fun to troubleshoot. A couple thoughts, you have a 20 amp breaker, but as already mentioned may have other items drawing on the circuit. Additionally, if you have a GFI anywhere in the circuit, most of them are 15 amp. A meter is a good idea to measure what you are actually getting at the trailer.
__________________

Brent
2013 Alpine 3500RE
2019 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
U.S. Air Force Retired (25 yrs)
RV Sales Consultant
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 11:58 AM   #16
LarrySharon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Rainier, Oregon but my heart is still in Arizona and my wife's heart is in Oregon.
Posts: 232
Okay folks, I am totally embarrassed. My issue was the GFI in the bathroom. I thought I had tested it and it was OK but imagine my surprise when my wife came to me and said it was fixed. Then she preceded to tell me how she went in to the bathroom and pushed the button and all was well again. I thank all of you for you input. Signed: Total Dunce
__________________

LarrySharon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×