Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2014, 08:35 PM   #1
rgnmgr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
Install hard start capacitor on Dometic 15k ac?

I have a Dometic 15k AC, cooling only unit, model B59516.711, on my 2014 Bullet. It has a single capacitor. How/where is a second "Hard Start" capacitor added? I assume it is connected to the existing capacitor?
rgnmgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:08 AM   #2
scott24
Senior Member
 
scott24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Marinette WI
Posts: 139
Why do you need a hardstart on it? How old is it?
scott24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 07:36 AM   #3
rgnmgr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
Hard start kit

Unit is a 2014. We are preparing for dry camping and adding a portable generator. Just wanted to be in front of any start up issues.
Unit works fine on 30 amp electrical hook ups.
rgnmgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:09 AM   #4
scott24
Senior Member
 
scott24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Marinette WI
Posts: 139
You wont need to install a hardstart kit. Those are only put on if the compressor is drawing alot of amps on start up.
__________________
2015 Passport 2250RB Grand Touring 2014 Durango Husky Centerline TS WDH
scott24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 08:57 AM   #5
BirchyBoy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott24 View Post
You wont need to install a hardstart kit. Those are only put on if the compressor is drawing alot of amps on start up.
Just to add to this, if you have to add a "hard start" kit to a home A/C system, it is generally indicative of other issues, such as a motor starting to go bad, etc. Been there, done that. Not money well spent.
__________________
Current:
'17 Winnebago Vista 31BE / Wife, pesky Eski and loco Toto dog
Former:
'15 Open Range 256BHS / '05 F350 CCLB RWD V10
'14 Keystone Passport 238ML / '13 GC Trailhawk Hemi
RIP Birch (pitbull)
BirchyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 03:22 PM   #6
scott24
Senior Member
 
scott24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Marinette WI
Posts: 139
A hard start is for a compressor, not the condensor fan.
__________________
2015 Passport 2250RB Grand Touring 2014 Durango Husky Centerline TS WDH
scott24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2014, 03:55 PM   #7
bg71361
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgnmgr View Post
I have a Dometic 15k AC, cooling only unit, model B59516.711, on my 2014 Bullet. It has a single capacitor. How/where is a second "Hard Start" capacitor added? I assume it is connected to the existing capacitor?
Here is a link to what you want to do, I did mine earlier this year very easy to do. Good luck

http://www.loveyourrv.com/installing...r-conditioner/
bg71361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:25 AM   #8
rgnmgr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
Hard Start kit 15k AC

Thanks for the input.
I cannot disagree, but wonder why Dometic offers a hard start capacitor for this unit?
Since Texas gets so very hot, I assumed this addition might make sense if I run a minimum wattage generator based on the comment of others.
rgnmgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:41 AM   #9
bg71361
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgnmgr View Post
Thanks for the input.
I cannot disagree, but wonder why Dometic offers a hard start capacitor for this unit?
Since Texas gets so very hot, I assumed this addition might make sense if I run a minimum wattage generator based on the comment of others.
It does make sense, makes a huge difference when connected to a generator.
bg71361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 08:08 PM   #10
denverpilot
Senior Member
 
denverpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 487
Just for info, we've found that a Honda 3000 on Eco mode won't quite survive an A/C start at altitude -- it'll trip out but remain running from an under volt -- but turn off Eco for a moment, start A/C and keep it set to a temp that'll keep it on and Eco can be turned back on.
__________________
Pilot for fun, Computer geek for a living, and happy 5er owner who wants more time to go play in the camper!
denverpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 07:15 AM   #11
rgnmgr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
Denverpilot

What size AC do you have? Dometic says 3.5 kw is minimum for 15k AC.
rgnmgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 09:37 AM   #12
bg71361
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgnmgr View Post
What size AC do you have? Dometic says 3.5 kw is minimum for 15k AC.
I have a 15K Dometic mdl #459516.711C0. I installed Dometic part #3310727.015 link below.



http://www.dyersonline.com/dometic-a...capacitor.html
bg71361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 06:33 AM   #13
rgnmgr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 47
Hard Start capacitor

Can you run lights etc. (excluding microwave) and AC with your generator? Do you switch the refrigerator to gas?
rgnmgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:01 AM   #14
bg71361
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgnmgr View Post
Can you run lights etc. (excluding microwave) and AC with your generator? Do you switch the refrigerator to gas?
It all depends on the size of your generator, have you purchased or are you favoring one over the other?
bg71361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 07:08 AM   #15
bg71361
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgnmgr View Post
What size AC do you have? Dometic says 3.5 kw is minimum for 15k AC.
Correct some say they can power. 15k ac with the Honda 3000 inverter generator but elevation comes into play also. It depends on how deep your pockets are as to what you buy, speaking for myself I use a Champion 3500/4000 surge generator and it is adequate. If noise is an issue there are other options too. (I have a 15k ac)

Yes I usually run the frig on gas plus hot water heater that way I have wattage left to run lights and more, I cycle the ac off
To run the microwave. As I recall I can make coffee with the ac on, it's a juggling game so the hard start kit is a good idea when your generator is on the line.
bg71361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:11 PM   #16
mfifield01
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 834
Does the Dometic A/C not come with the Hard Start Capacitor? I was under the impression that it had one from the factory.

Can you start your A/C with Eco Mode On?
__________________
(SOLD) 2015 Keystone Passport 2810BH
2013 Ram 1500 Hemi 8-speed 3.92 Air Suspension
mfifield01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:43 PM   #17
jje1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 692
Hard start capacitor

Definitely don't want to combat other perspectives, however my experience with capacitors is very positive. I installed one on our 15K unit the first year and had a very noticeable difference of starting the unit while on generator. While not being able to start from econ mode on our Boliy, the starting was very much less draw than without. JS, the hard start capacitor was a nice addition for us.
__________________
2011 F350 DRW 4X4
"The Beast"
2011 Cougar 325 SRX
jje1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 08:28 AM   #18
KJJ
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Waterford, MI
Posts: 53
I have not been on my roof yet, but other posts indicate that the Dometic RV Brisk Air II (or Brisk 2) does not come with a Hard Start Capacitor. The wiring diagram shows one but covers 4 models (both Brisk and Brisk II, 13.5 and 15KBTU) and indicates the start cap section is "not used on some models"). On Amazon several folks have commented happily adding the Supco SPP6 PTC capacitor to their Brisk II, although having to trim the cowling a bit (the Brisk II is a rather tight package).

The 3310727.015 is the start cap for the Brisk, it's capacitor is rated 43-53F (F = microfarads, farads are the measure for how much power the cap stores up). The SPP6 is aftermarket, it's capacitor is rated 130-156F. I don't know what the specs are on their resistors.

If I decide to get a generator, it will be a smaller one that I can store under my trailer, possibly that Westinghouse 2400. If it doesn't power the A/C up I will get an SPP6 for around $10, and if that doesn't work I will either get a 2nd gen with a dual cable or a Dometic SmartStart (which REALLY reduces the startup current).

KJ
__________________
2016 Passport Express 238ML
2000 Chevy G1500 Majestic Land Yacht
KJJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 07:45 PM   #19
Jgkopp
Member
 
Jgkopp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: San Clemente, CA.
Posts: 81
If you add a start capacitor get the OEM factory option parts. Should also have a relay and three wires to hook up. May need to remove a junky thing the factory may have already in place. When your done it should still have a run cap and the added kit. You will need to review instructions to install or have it installed.

This kit greatly reduces the required start up amps needed to get the compressor going. This start up draw is three times the run amps. With a real three wire OEM kit it will start so well that a meter will have a hard time capturing the start up amps. The generator will handle start ups from cycling on and off much better.

I am in the hvac business for residential and light commercial. I added a factory start kit to an RV a/c I had on a Lance camper back in the day. Was running a 13.5 on a 2.8 with no issues. The SPP6 if two-wire are junk.
__________________
2016 Ford Lariat F-250 6.7 diesel 4 door short bed
Demco Hijacker 18K Ultra Slide 5th wheel hitch
2016 Keystone Montana 3820FK (Front Kitchen)
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ElygXOXXGSc
Jgkopp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.