Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2012, 09:06 AM   #1
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
50 amp??

I was wondering if it was possible to get a y splitter for a 50 amp female with 2 30 amp males. Ive seen them the other way around but not like this. And is it possible to run s 5
0 amp rv off of 2 30 amp plugs. The next spot we plan on going to doesnt have any 50 amp hookups, only 30 amp. Im kinda new to this so any help would be appreciated.
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 09:57 AM   #2
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcredeur View Post
I was wondering if it was possible to get a y splitter for a 50 amp female with 2 30 amp males. Ive seen them the other way around but not like this. And is it possible to run s 50 amp rv off of 2 30 amp plugs. The next spot we plan on going to doesnt have any 50 amp hookups, only 30 amp. Im kinda new to this so any help would be appreciated.
You can't hook up to two separate 30 amp outlets and provide one 50 amp service because there is no way to know if the outlets are on opposite legs of the same branch. I did not find any adapters capable of doing this so I am convinced that it should not be done.

I am guessing that you want to be able to run two air conditioners simultaneously plus the rest of the trailer because that is pretty much the only load beyond a 30 amp feed. There are some solutions, but they would require a modification of your trailer's 110vac/220vac wiring system to separate at least one of the air conditioners off the main wiring so that it has it's own shore line. It is not a particularly difficult mod.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:05 AM   #3
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
I thought i had seen this done before but i guess not. Thanks
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:17 AM   #4
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcredeur View Post
I thought i had seen this done before but i guess not. Thanks
There is an adapter available that will split a 50 amp feed into two 30 amp feeds which is the reverse of what you need.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:50 AM   #5
zuley
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Guelph, On
Posts: 308
From my previous life as a boater I would be looking at West Marine if I was looking for any sort of shore power cables/ splitters. www.westmarine.com
If they don't carry it or have it in the catalog I doubt if it is available.
zuley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 11:58 AM   #6
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
thanks zuley , ill check them out. Steve , that is the cable im looking for but the ends are opposite
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:07 PM   #7
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by zuley View Post
From my previous life as a boater I would be looking at West Marine if I was looking for any sort of shore power cables/ splitters. www.westmarine.com
If they don't carry it or have it in the catalog I doubt if it is available.
Marinco makes many of the adapters and connectors that West Marine sells. Camping World, Priority RV, and other outlets carry Marinco as well.

I usually check the Marinco site because they list all of their products and not just the ones carried by a particular sales outlet. And, the Marinco site has specs on some stuff as well.

And, I can usually comparison shop when I know exactly what I need.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:42 PM   #8
mikell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 806
Unless your running 2 AC units you probably don't need 50 amps. I'm thinking about raising our rate on 50 amp sites because people demand them for no reason. I've seen people request 30 then realize there's a 30 and 50 so put on a 50 adapter to plug in with a 30 amp cord
mikell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 12:54 PM   #9
Htfiremedic
Senior Member
 
Htfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory Taver SC
Posts: 381
It can be done. I made a "cheater box" and use it often. I bought two 30 Amp male to standard 15 amp adapters from Harbor Freight Tools. I took two 8-10" piece of extension cord and wired them into a 50 amp box. I connected the 15 amp ends and can run off of two 15 amp or two 30 amp outlets. Thusly creating a 50 amp service.
Google "50 amp cheater box"
Htfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 01:15 PM   #10
Htfiremedic
Senior Member
 
Htfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory Taver SC
Posts: 381
me picsHere are so
Htfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 01:56 PM   #11
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 25,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Htfiremedic View Post
It can be done. I made a "cheater box" and use it often. I bought two 30 Amp male to standard 15 amp adapters from Harbor Freight Tools. I took two 8-10" piece of extension cord and wired them into a 50 amp box. I connected the 15 amp ends and can run off of two 15 amp or two 30 amp outlets. Thusly creating a 50 amp service.
Google "50 amp cheater box"
If I understand you correctly, you're running two 30amp adapters into two 15amp plugs into a 50amp box. While this may provide 50 amps for a period of time. I'd be very suspicious of the 15amp plugs in the middle. They may well become overloaded, get hot, melt or short out. Those 15amp plugs just aren't designed to handle 30amps for any length of time. They may do fine for quick demands like starting an AC or other capacitive start loads, but a high amp long duration load like running an electric heater, heat tapes, hot water heater A/C heat strip and/or electric fireplace may put enough load on those 15amp plugs to cause problems.

When you plug the two 15amp plugs into the same circuit on the campground plug, you're only going to get the initial 15 (or 20) amps available at that plug. Electrical code calls for minimum 14 gage copper single strand romex for 15amp circuits, 12 gage for 20 amp and 10 gage for 30 amps. If you install your device in the campground power pole and it's wired with 12 gage romex protected with a 20 amp circuit breaker, you're only going to get 20 amps at your 50amp plug. The only way to get more than the CB protected 20 amps would be to run an extension cord to another power pole and plug the extension cord into your other plug. You'd then get possibly 40 amps, but if you're using 15amp plugs in your device, you're overloaded and stand to destroy the device or damage the campground wiring. You'd be better off simply using a 30 amp cable to your camper.

In theory, it's a great idea, but I'd look at some way to connect the 30amp plugs to the 50amp box with 30amp connectors and eliminate the 15 amp components in your high amperage pigtail.

Additionally, if you do have a problem with the 15amp plugs overheating, until they draw 30 amps, the circuit breaker on the campground pole won't trip protecting your circuit.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:18 PM   #12
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
Here's the deal . I went by the campground today and checked it out . There is about 8-10 30 amp hook ups on the pole that I will be parking . Is there anyway that I can run my 50 amp off of those hook ups . I could've swore I saw a camper parked there that had a 50 with two 30 coming out plugged to the pole . There adapter wasn't homemade , it was a molded adapter .
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 03:31 PM   #13
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
I think I found what I was looking for . A 50 amp cheater box . One 30 and one 20 amp plug on the end . Would that work ?
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:00 PM   #14
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 25,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcredeur View Post
Here's the deal . I went by the campground today and checked it out . There is about 8-10 30 amp hook ups on the pole that I will be parking . Is there anyway that I can run my 50 amp off of those hook ups . I could've swore I saw a camper parked there that had a 50 with two 30 coming out plugged to the pole . There adapter wasn't homemade , it was a molded adapter .
This is probably what you're looking for:

http://www.amazon.com/Smart-50-Shore...+power+adapter

I think it's kind of pricey, at Amazon.com, it's 406.00 But I think it's what you're looking for. I would urge you, however, to contact the vendor, discuss your needs with him and make sure this adapter will do what you want before ordering it.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:57 PM   #15
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
That's not what I was talking about . The other one is way cheaper .
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 05:41 PM   #16
SteveC7010
Senior Member
 
SteveC7010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northville NY in the Adirondacks
Posts: 2,128
Remember that you want to pull from two separate 30 amp 110vac connections and feed them into one 220 vac 50 amp connection to feed the trailer. Electricians correct me if I am wrong, but I am pretty darned sure that you have to pull from each side of the branch to properly have 50 amp 220 vac.

Here's what I am trying to say: 220 vac is actually 110 vac on a left leg and 110 vac on a right leg with a single common and a single ground. To pull 110 vac, you tap either the left or the right leg plus ground and common. To pull 220 vac, you have to have the left and the right plus common and ground. I do not believe that you can tap one side or the other twice and get 220 vac.

Look at a residential electric panel. All the 110 vac breakers are connected to either the left or the right hot buss bars. All the 220 vac breakers straddle and connect to both buss bars. None of the 220 vac breakers connect twice to one buss bar and not at all to the other.

The only way to safely do this is to verify that you are plugging one 30 amp connection into the left leg and the other into the right leg of the same 50 amp 220 vac line. Without the proper electrician's test equipment, you will have a difficult time verifying this. Given the fact that many campgrounds are poorly wired at best, this is risky business all around.

If I was in your situation and truly needed 50 amp 220vac, I'd approach the campground management and ask them to provide it or....

Bite the bullet and separate my second air conditioner from the regular TT wiring and connect it up to its own breaker box and a 20 amp shoreline. That way, I can connect the trailer to one 30 amp hookup and the 2nd a/c to a 20 or 30 amp outlet. It is also possible to wire your rig so that the 2nd a/c's shoreline can be plugged into a special connection on the trailer when you are properly hooked up to a 50 amp 220 vac RV connection. The cost to do all that that is probably less than the cost of trying to do what you propose. And it would be a whole lot safer.
__________________

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel
Amateur Radio: KD2IAT (146.520) GMRS: WQPG808 (462.675 TPL 141.3)
SteveC7010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:15 PM   #17
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
I understand what your saying steve but my thought is that the cheater i came across is designed to give the amps you need thru 1 30 amp plug and thru 1 20 amp plug. It states that it made to give you the 50 amps needed to run the entire rv.
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 07:06 PM   #18
Htfiremedic
Senior Member
 
Htfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory Taver SC
Posts: 381
From what I understand from my owners manual, it is not a true 220v setup. It is actually two 110v feeds in a common cable.
This being said, when you make the box it requires the use of two cords and all three wires. Thusly showing a double 110v feed.
My buddy that works for CW agreed that is is NOT 220v.
Htfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 04:53 AM   #19
tcredeur
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 15
I wasnt planning on making one. I was looking for a premade connector.
__________________
09 Dodge 2500 Megacab
2013 Raptor 297SE
tcredeur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 06:38 AM   #20
Htfiremedic
Senior Member
 
Htfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hickory Taver SC
Posts: 381
CW has them and some campgrounds do as well.
Htfiremedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.