Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2012, 10:39 AM   #1
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
50 Amp Power Maximizer

Does anyone have/use these? Are they safe? We go to a park that does not have a 50 amp hook up. I am about to add a second air to our 5ver, and was thinking this may be a good adapter to get.

The 50 amp power maximizer has a 30 amp male plug and a 15/20 amp male plug on one end. The other end has one female 50 amp plug.

I did see one customer review that said if the 15/20 amp receptical is a GFCI that this adapter would not work. Said that the GFCI would trip.
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 11:40 AM   #2
Johnnyfry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 394
50 amp cheater

The problem is the fact that virtually all power posts have a GFCI on the 20 amp outlet. Because the 30 and 20 amp share a common neutral through the 50 amp cable to the trailer, the GFCI will trip out.

There 2 ways around this:
1. Use an isolation transformer on the 20 amp outlet. This is impractical for several reasons: transformers are big and heavy and they are expensive.

2. Run a 20 amp extension cord into the trailer and use it directly to power part of the load without interfacing with the AC panel. While this would work fine for the coffee maker or toaster oven it would not be too practical for the Air Conditioner unless you fitted it with a household cord and plug, it certainly could be done but it would be a lot of hassle for the times you wanted to use 2 AC units.

IMHO
John
__________________
2006 Dodge Cummins 3500 Mega cab, dually
2011Cougar 318SAB
Sidewinder hitch
Johnnyfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:03 PM   #3
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
Thanks for the answer John. Not what I wanted to hear, but what I expected I would hear.

Thanks,
Paul
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 12:20 PM   #4
Johnnyfry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 394
50 amp cheater

Paul, I have used the extension cord route to allow me to use appliances and AC when I was on 30 amps and it works well. A 50 foot 10/3 extension Is about $90 from Home Depot.

John
__________________
2006 Dodge Cummins 3500 Mega cab, dually
2011Cougar 318SAB
Sidewinder hitch
Johnnyfry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 04:37 PM   #5
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
Thanks for the info John.

Is 30 amp normally enough to run both AC units with nothing else running?
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 07:31 PM   #6
Festus2
Site Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fraser Valley BC Canada
Posts: 7,015
When you say "nothing else running", don't forget to include the converter which draws about 5-8 amps as well as the fridge and HW tank if you are hooked up and not using propane to operate the fridge and heat the HW tank. One A/C, the converter and the HW (running on 110v) will draw too much amperage on a 30A circuit to also have a second AC running.
You would probably need to do as Johnnyfry did and run a separate, heavy duty extension cord to operate anything else like small appliances.
__________________
2008 Cougar 5th Wheel 27RKS
2005 2500 GMC Duramax
Festus2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:45 PM   #7
whitebb
Junior Member
 
whitebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full Timing
Posts: 4
50 Amps works and you don't need to do all of these things.
__________________
Ben & Karen
We are long time camping in all kinds of setups

2012 F-350 Ford Dually
2012 Montana RL 3700


whitebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 04:00 AM   #8
mikell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 806
Get a power monitoe to make sure your voltage doesn't get too low. This has readout for voltage and you can plug things in to see what the wattage is. They are quite accurate we us them in out labs at work

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...LAID=220321019
mikell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:41 AM   #9
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Festus2 View Post
When you say "nothing else running", don't forget to include the converter which draws about 5-8 amps as well as the fridge and HW tank if you are hooked up and not using propane to operate the fridge and heat the HW tank. One A/C, the converter and the HW (running on 110v) will draw too much amperage on a 30A circuit to also have a second AC running.
You would probably need to do as Johnnyfry did and run a separate, heavy duty extension cord to operate anything else like small appliances.

Ahh. I always forget about the converter. Thanks for the info.
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:45 AM   #10
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitebb View Post
50 Amps works and you don't need to do all of these things.
Yes, 50 amps works great if available. 50 amps is not always available. Therefor the reason for the discussion. If 50 amps is not available you MAY have to do these things.
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 05:48 AM   #11
Roberson4
Senior Member
 
Roberson4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bismarck, AR
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikell View Post
Get a power monitoe to make sure your voltage doesn't get too low. This has readout for voltage and you can plug things in to see what the wattage is. They are quite accurate we us them in out labs at work

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/produc...LAID=220321019
I have a plug in volt meter in our camper at all times. I also have a kil-O-watt meter I use with our Christmas lights display. Thanks for reminding me it has other uses.
__________________

2011 Avalanche 340TG
2001 Silverado 2500HD Crew Cab
B&W Companion Fifth Wheel Hitch
Had
2008 Hornet Retreat 38BHDS (Good camper)
2006 Terry 320DBHS (POS)
Roberson4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.