RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2019, 07:58 AM   #1
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
GFCI Circuit

My husband and I purchased a 2005 Keystone Laredo Travel Trailer and have some electric issues. We have looked high and low for the GFCI outlet and can not find it. Can someone help us? Thank you.
__________________

Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:01 AM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 19,623
Typically, there are two common locations. The galley plugs (look up under the overhead cabinets for a plug) and in the bathroom wall plug.
__________________

__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:01 AM   #3
Surferbill
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Fort Walton Beach
Posts: 23
Try the bathroom
Surferbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:07 AM   #4
Logan X
Senior Member
 
Logan X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,272
In my trailer, there are four GFCI outlets but the only one with the test/reset button is in the bathroom. The other GFCI outlets are on the same circuit but they look like normal outlets. When the GFCI pops, all four outlets stop working.
__________________
Mike
2017 F250 6.7 Powerstroke FX4 crew cab
2016 Hideout 24BHSWE (27 foot TT)

Check me out on YouTube if you love America:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCmF...gJpypWJz5Lgl3w
Logan X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:16 AM   #5
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
We have two outlets under the kitchen cabinets and they are both dead - neither has a reset button. There is one on the side of the sink cabinet in the bathroom and it's a regular outlet and it is dead. I called Keystone and she told me to look under the sink... I haven't gotten out there yet. We know there is one out there somewhere...just can't think where else to look.
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:24 AM   #6
66joej
Senior Member
 
66joej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: radium hot springs bc
Posts: 2,007
I had an '05 Laredo 5er and the GFCI reset was on the outside receptacle.
__________________

2018 Ram 3500 6.4 Harvest Edition
2018 Cougar 27RESWE
66joej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:44 AM   #7
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
We have the outside outlet but there is no reset button.
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 08:45 AM   #8
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
I went out and looked under the sink and there is nothing. I don't know where else to look... it's getting pretty frustrating knowing there has to be one and not being able to find it.
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 09:42 AM   #9
KeithInUpstateNY
Senior Member
 
KeithInUpstateNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Potsdam
Posts: 319
Long shot based on other replies and your responses, have you checked to see if you have a GFCI breaker instead of an outlet that controls the circuit? A GFCI breaker will have a reset button on it the same as a GFCI outlet.

Another long shot, based on a couple of video tours of your model I watched, have you checked the outlet for the television? It swivels to the outside, so water could be a concern at that outlet as well.

Good luck.
__________________


2015 Bullet 220RBI
2019 Chevy Colorado extended cab V6 3.6 liter
KeithInUpstateNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 10:08 AM   #10
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
All the breakers are good and there isn't a GFCI breaker. Still looking....
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 10:50 AM   #11
MarkEHansen
Senior Member
 
MarkEHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 773
How about the outlet into which the fridge is plugged? This outlet is in the GFCI circuit so perhaps they put the master outlet there?
__________________
2019 Cougar Half Ton 26RBSWE - "Bertha"
2019 GMC Sierra 3500 Denali HD 6.6L Duramax TD, CC, 4WD, DRW - "Mr. Beefy"
MarkEHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 01:26 PM   #12
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
Thanks, we will look tonight.
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 01:47 PM   #13
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
I called my husband and mentioned that to him about the refrigerator outlet and he said that it wasn't the GFCI outlet and that the outlet doesn't have power either.
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:16 PM   #14
Frank G
Senior Member
 
Frank G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Dade City
Posts: 1,020
I know you are frustrated, Slow down, take a flashlight and cover each room, outside, basement, water compartment. There is one somewhere.
__________________
2017 Laredo 325RL
Travelers Rest Resort
www.travelersrestresort.com
Frank G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:17 PM   #15
Karyn Felt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Lovell
Posts: 16
I got on another forum where someone had posted that they couldn't find their GFCI outlet and another person posted to look under the extended kitchen counter... and guess what!! I found it!!!!! Thank you everyone for posting with your ideas of where to look for it. HAPPY FACE!!!
Karyn Felt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2019, 02:32 PM   #16
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
And now we all know another place to look. Thanks for following back up with the solution.
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 08:45 AM   #17
Larrystegall
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: 75137
Posts: 31
Back to basics. Did you hear a click when the receptacles stopped working, or was it dead from the "get-go"? If it was always dead, flip all 20 amp breakers off and back on. Factory may have missed the GFCI device and it tripped from overload if it died in service.
Check the closets, the device could be in the washer closet or charging station in the master closet. Oops! Late to the party and no beer left. Sigh.......
Larrystegall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 12:47 PM   #18
LHaven
Senior Member
 
LHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 1,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyn Felt View Post
All the breakers are good and there isn't a GFCI breaker. Still looking....
Wow, this must be frustrating.

If any breaker has a pushbutton on it, it's a GFCI breaker. Turn it all the way off (all the way, hard, until it audibly snaps!) and then back on to reset.

If no breaker has a pushbutton on it, then the GFCI is provided by the first outlet in the chain, which is most likely to be the nearest outlet to the breaker box. (As someone else mentioned, sometimes this can be the outdoor outlet.) It will have a reset button in the middle.

GFCI is required wherever there is water, which in practice usually means kitchens, baths, and outdoors. There has to be at least one GFCI breaker or buttoned outlet in your rig.

Use these rules to inform your search.
__________________
2019 Cougar 26RBSWE
2019 Ford F-250
LHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2019, 01:51 PM   #19
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
The OP has solved their issue.
See post #15.
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 07:50 AM   #20
tmason
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Scotts Valley
Posts: 10
Gfci

Logan X

You only have 1 gfci outlet the others that look like regular outlets but are marked gfci are the one's protected by the actual gfci outlet
__________________

tmason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gfci

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×