Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2018, 11:59 AM   #1
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
Campsite cable TV set up

So Iím a newbie. There is cable tv offered at the site i am at. I hooked it up to my trailer and hooked the cable from the wall inside to my TV. I am still seeing ďno signalĒ. Yes the campers around me have viewing pleasure and no my site is not just unlucky. Please help...my 5yo needs his sponge bob. Thanks!
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:06 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 21,607
You first need to turn the antenna booster off (it's the little button on the faceplate) next, go into your TV menu, change the source from OTA (antenna) to CABLE. Then do a channel search to set the channel availability in your TV memory. Then your 5 year old should get his sponge bob.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:09 PM   #3
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
All of that has been done. Iím stuck. When i do the channel search i come up empty. And, to be honest i would love to see the Sox beat up on the Yankees too lol
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:27 PM   #4
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
Does your TV work from the antenna?
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:29 PM   #5
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
No it does not.
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:44 PM   #6
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 21,607
You might consider eliminating the trailer, antenna booster and all the connections behind the walls by running the cable directly from the campground connection through a window and directly to the TV. If that works, then troubleshoot to find the problem. If that doesn't work, the problem is either the campground, the cable run or the TV. It's a matter of determining which one (or two or three)..... I'd start with a cable through the window and see if it works.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:45 PM   #7
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
Cool. Iíll do that.
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 12:48 PM   #8
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Pull Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 1,214
Some newer campers are "prewired" for satellite using a second outside jack. Check for another outside co-ax fitting and give it a try. You can also try plugging in to a neighbor if your cable is long enough, or plug directly into the TV directly from the power pedestal just to eliminate that as an issue.

Let us know how you make out.

Good Luck,
__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET IV"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:25 PM   #9
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
So, i am hooked up directly through the window to the tv. No dice.
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:37 PM   #10
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 21,607
If you're hooked up directly from the campground connection to the TV, then either there is no signal at the campground pedestal, the coax cable is bad or your TV is not set up correctly (or is bad). It's not the trailer since you've completely eliminated it. Do you have a replacement cable? and/or a second TV?
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 01:51 PM   #11
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
Brand new TV and brand new cable. Off to the front office i go. Lol.
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 02:11 PM   #12
Lenny K
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Vancouver Island, BC
Posts: 5
You probably need to get a box from the office to be able to use the campground cable.
Lenny K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 02:11 PM   #13
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
They would supply that?
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 02:29 PM   #14
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 14,308
CG cable tv doesnít require a cable box. You just need to do a channel scan with the reception set to ďCABLE/SATĒ.

If your trailer is brand new, then either the dealer didnít test it at PDI or you didnít get proper instructions on how to use it. If it was bad (I doubt it) and the dealer did test it, shame on them!!
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:43 PM   #15
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 12,468
At our FL campground we are supplied a box and remote to use their cable. YOu have to disconnect the cable from your TV, connect it to the box then connect an additional short cable back to the TV. It also requires a transformer. Some places don't do that. Also, the very first time we tried to use cable the tech had left the TV set for over the air because we tested that in the lot. It took me a very long time, and a call to the manufacturer of the TV (in the paperwork) to get the right settings in the TV. They absolutely made no intuitive sense. I wrote them down but now sort of have it remembered and can get it going with trial and error (we watch virtually no cable tv). So work on those settings; I'd bet that's where your problem is.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 53 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 03:46 PM   #16
jmaggipintojr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Enfield
Posts: 13
So hereís what happened...

The campground cable runs site to site like a circuit. The site next to mine was not split to my line. So...all is well. Thank you all for your input! Happy camping and Hail to the Redskins!
jmaggipintojr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:25 PM   #17
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 14,308
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourdough View Post
At our FL campground we are supplied a box and remote to use their cable. YOu have to disconnect the cable from your TV, connect it to the box then connect an additional short cable back to the TV. It also requires a transformer. Some places don't do that. Also, the very first time we tried to use cable the tech had left the TV set for over the air because we tested that in the lot. It took me a very long time, and a call to the manufacturer of the TV (in the paperwork) to get the right settings in the TV. They absolutely made no intuitive sense. I wrote them down but now sort of have it remembered and can get it going with trial and error (we watch virtually no cable tv). So work on those settings; I'd bet that's where your problem is.
Must be an East coast thing. I’ve never had to use a box.

Anyway glad it’s up and running...I’m sure you meant the Packers LOL
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:30 PM   #18
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 12,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Must be an East coast thing. Iíve never had to use a box.

Anyway glad itís up and running...Iím sure you meant the Packers LOL
Naw, I don't think it's a E vs W coast thing. I think the owner of the place is cheap......I KNOW he's cheap, but like him - and you get a bazillion channels. I've been to some that get a small handful.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 53 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 04:33 PM   #19
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 12,468
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaggipintojr View Post
So hereís what happened...

The campground cable runs site to site like a circuit. The site next to mine was not split to my line. So...all is well. Thank you all for your input! Happy camping and Hail to the Redskins!
Glad you got it going, and Sponge Bob, but, how is your reception? I would really be worried about the cable looped from site to site. What if someone upstream disconnects? What if they don't secure the circuit properly. I've never heard of anything like that.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 53 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2018, 05:12 PM   #20
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmaggipintojr View Post
So hereís what happened...

The campground cable runs site to site like a circuit. The site next to mine was not split to my line. So...all is well. Thank you all for your input! Happy camping and Hail to the Redskins!
Well that's a way to do it!
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cable

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.