RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2018, 06:43 AM   #1
DanaJan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wellsville
Posts: 12
Polaroid tv says no signal

We pulled our new Passport 2400BH home this week from the dealer. The Polaroid flat screen worked off the antenna just fine at the dealership, but I can't get a picture on it at home. It turns on and I can flip through all the channels, but it says 'no signal.' What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any direction.
__________________

DanaJan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 06:51 AM   #2
jeff57
Member
 
jeff57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Maybe you need to turn on the Antenna amplifier? It's a button that is located on a "wall plate", sometimes on the ceiling (in my camper it's on the Bedroom ceiling, on the other side of the wall from the TV). Mine also has a cigarette-lighter type 12V outlet adjacent to this button. There should be a Green LED light that will light up when the amplifier is turned on (button pushed in).

Hope this helps!
__________________

__________________
Jeff
2017 Premier 26RBPR
2016 F-150 XLT SCrew 4x4 w/3.5 EcoBoost & MaxTow
Previous: 2014 F150 SCrew 4x4 w/3.5 EcoBoost; 2014 Laredo 274RB

jeff57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 06:54 AM   #3
Terry W.
Senior Member
 
Terry W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pickens, SC
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanaJan View Post
We pulled our new Passport 2400BH home this week from the dealer. The Polaroid flat screen worked off the antenna just fine at the dealership, but I can't get a picture on it at home. It turns on and I can flip through all the channels, but it says 'no signal.' What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any direction.
Is the antenna booster turned on? Antenna raised up? Make sure tv is on antenna input and do channel scan

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
https://www.keystonerv.org/forums/pic...pictureid=1416 Terry & Kathy
2012 Avalanche 330RE
2006 F250 Super Crew Chipped, K&N
2-11 Pound 4 Legged Furry Childern
Pickens, SC
Terry W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 09:18 AM   #4
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 4,285
Every time you move the rv you have to go the tv menu, set to antenna or cable, whichever input is being used, the booster must be "on" for antenna/"off" for cable & scan the channels. My tv has a signal meter in the menu & once I've scanned the channels, I check the signal & rotate the antenna slowly to the strongest signal, may have to rescan after finding the strongest signal, this is not necessary if using cable input. I have the Winggard batwing antenna, you may have something different. Talked to folks that have the little round spacecraft looking antenna & get very poor reception with it, the Jack antenna has fairly good reviews.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 09:46 AM   #5
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
Danajan, any update on your issue?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 01:06 PM   #6
DanaJan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Wellsville
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctbruce View Post
Danajan, any update on your issue?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Everything is working now. I apologize for not responding, but I have been out of commission for several days.

I appreciate everyone's help!
DanaJan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 01:53 PM   #7
ctbruce
Site Team
 
ctbruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 3,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanaJan View Post
Everything is working now. I apologize for not responding, but I have been out of commission for several days.

I appreciate everyone's help!
Great. Glad your on your way up. Have a great summer.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________

Chip Bruce, RPh
Kansas City, MO
2016 Impact 312
2017 Silverado 3500HD SRW
ctbruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:15 AM   #8
t_dogg80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanaJan View Post
Everything is working now. I apologize for not responding, but I have been out of commission for several days.

I appreciate everyone's help!
I'm having the same issue. What did you do to fix your issue? My booster is on. Nothing after scanning. I should be getting at least 2 solid channels here according to the map here. Any ideas?
__________________
2018 Keystone Hideout 28BHSWE
2013 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD
t_dogg80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:52 AM   #9
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,590
T-dogg, how close are you to a major broadcasting tower. Remember, not the station, but the tower. I don't see any towers near Kelowna. If you happen to be 40 or 50 miles from the nearest tower and in hilly areas you're probably out of luck.
__________________
Jim in Memphis
Wife of 49 years is Brenda
2019 F450 6.7 Powerstroke
2017 Mobile Suites 40RSSA
2015 26TBUD Salem Forest River (For Alaska Trip)
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 05:56 AM   #10
t_dogg80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 24
The closest tower is apparently 10.1 miles away. I know I can pick up the channels in my house with our hd antenna. Nothing special. Just can't get anything on the RV. Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20180416-065638_Chrome.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	16052
__________________
2018 Keystone Hideout 28BHSWE
2013 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD
t_dogg80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:01 AM   #11
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 20,266
Not "every location" in a 360 degree area from a broadcast tower will receive the signal. As an example, in Marquette Tourist Park Campground, there is a power plant that is powered by coal. The chimney (30' in diameter and 100' tall) for that power plant sits directly in line between the broadcast tower and the back row of campsites. TV reception is great in every campsite except the back row.

So, I'd suggest that before you go ripping things out and do extensive troubleshooting, tow the trailer a couple miles from the current location and see if you get TV reception there.

You might have a problem with a faulty component or a bad crimp on a connector, then you may have nothing wrong "electronically" but just be in a bad reception area.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:45 AM   #12
t_dogg80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRTJH View Post
Not "every location" in a 360 degree area from a broadcast tower will receive the signal. As an example, in Marquette Tourist Park Campground, there is a power plant that is powered by coal. The chimney (30' in diameter and 100' tall) for that power plant sits directly in line between the broadcast tower and the back row of campsites. TV reception is great in every campsite except the back row.

So, I'd suggest that before you go ripping things out and do extensive troubleshooting, tow the trailer a couple miles from the current location and see if you get TV reception there.

You might have a problem with a faulty component or a bad crimp on a connector, then you may have nothing wrong "electronically" but just be in a bad reception area.
Fair enough. My trailer is literally 5 feet from my house though. That being said, I get it and will try on our next trip. It's even closer to that antenna.
__________________
2018 Keystone Hideout 28BHSWE
2013 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD
t_dogg80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:38 AM   #13
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 5,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRTJH View Post
Not "every location" in a 360 degree area from a broadcast tower will receive the signal. As an example, in Marquette Tourist Park Campground, there is a power plant that is powered by coal. The chimney (30' in diameter and 100' tall) for that power plant sits directly in line between the broadcast tower and the back row of campsites. TV reception is great in every campsite except the back row.

So, I'd suggest that before you go ripping things out and do extensive troubleshooting, tow the trailer a couple miles from the current location and see if you get TV reception there.

You might have a problem with a faulty component or a bad crimp on a connector, then you may have nothing wrong "electronically" but just be in a bad reception area.
Good advice from John. The digital over the air signal is a UHF signal that's strictly line of sight. Buildings, trees, etc. can block that signal. The typical web sites for aiming antenna's assume an unobstructed site line and some elevation of the antenna. Setting next to a house with the antenna much lower than the house will hinder the results. Relating to my own situation I have a television in my garage with connections for both cable and over the air antenna. When the camper is in the driveway I can connect it to that OVA connection and the number of available channels nearly triples. Let us know what you find out on your next trip.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 11:54 AM   #14
t_dogg80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybouy View Post
Good advice from John. The digital over the air signal is a UHF signal that's strictly line of sight. Buildings, trees, etc. can block that signal. The typical web sites for aiming antenna's assume an unobstructed site line and some elevation of the antenna. Setting next to a house with the antenna much lower than the house will hinder the results. Relating to my own situation I have a television in my garage with connections for both cable and over the air antenna. When the camper is in the driveway I can connect it to that OVA connection and the number of available channels nearly triples. Let us know what you find out on your next trip.
Wow, that really is line of sight. I was up until 2am the first night that we had our trailer trying to figure it out. Lol.
__________________

__________________
2018 Keystone Hideout 28BHSWE
2013 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD
t_dogg80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×