RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2017, 04:22 PM   #1
Frisbeekev
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Burtonsvlle
Posts: 57
Floor heat

Was running the heat in my rv (floor ducted heat) off of a house plug. Not all the registers were blowing hot air. Do I need to be plugged into 30 amp to have all registers to blow heat, or is it broken, or another issue?
__________________

Frisbeekev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 04:32 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 12,433
As long as the fan is turning fast enough to allow the gas to ignite, you don’t need to be plugged into a higher amp service. If you have warm air out some and cool air out other registers ( outlets) I would suspect either a blockage of some sort, or maybe the duct has come loose from the heater exchange box.

Locate your heater. You may have to remove the screws holding in a grill to inspect things. The ducts are inserted into holes and rotated, not common but I have seen some come undone or not put on properly. If all the ducts are attached, then you may have kinks or debris in the duct work.

Another issue I have seen is smaller diameter ducts used for longer runs and such. Air like water will take the path of least resistance, and it’s not uncommon to get good flow from the 3” duct and lousy/no flow from the 1 1/2” ducts. Be careful about covering outlets to redirect the heat, as it may cause the furnace to overheat, tripping the high limit switch and shutting down.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 06:50 AM   #3
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Pull Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 1,184
+1 for Chuckster57...

Your profile doesn't state the age of your camper or if this is a new problem that wasn't there before. If it's a new camper, my advise is to make it the dealers problem. As Chuckster stated, it's not unheard of for the ductwork to be in need of reconnection.

Good Luck,
__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET IV"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2017, 04:01 PM   #4
Frisbeekev
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Burtonsvlle
Posts: 57
It's a brand new camper. Worked before. Will check the lines, then get it to the dealer if needed. Thanks
Frisbeekev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2017, 08:00 AM   #5
IRV2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Redding
Posts: 120
One of ours

This is what we discovered when we pulled out the register on our new 5th wheel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0300.JPG
Views:	240
Size:	36.2 KB
ID:	14959  
IRV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 03:57 PM   #6
summerhummer
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Atlanta ga
Posts: 86
That is just sad. Even if a worker goes to lunch early you need to fix that when you get back. You just cant close that up. Ugh poor quality control
summerhummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 06:34 AM   #7
TLB
Senior Member
 
TLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Essexville, MI
Posts: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRV2 View Post
This is what we discovered when we pulled out the register on our new 5th wheel.
That is just wrong.
__________________

2014 Passport Elite 31RE

2017 2500HD Crew Cab
TLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 07:57 AM   #8
Hodgy
Senior Member
 
Hodgy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Bragg Creek
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRV2 View Post
This is what we discovered when we pulled out the register on our new 5th wheel.

Looks like someone went to war in that space.


.
__________________
2016 Bullet 1800RB, UVW 3260, led by a 2005 Chev Silverado Z-71 1500, Crew Cab, 5.3L, 4WD, Tow & Off Road Package with 4.10 Rear Axle, GVR 7000 lbs, Front GWAR 3925 lbs & Rear GWAR 4000 lbs., Payload 1600 lbs., Hellwig 6012 Air Bags. 97' Honda Goldwing GL1500.
Home Base is the Alberta Foothills at 4300 ' ASL.
Hodgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 05:59 AM   #9
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 5,413
If it worked before then that damage is new. Could be the factory did a lousy install that fell apart after use which is what it looks like, but I would suggest you look closely for any evidence of rodents. Those little critters can tear up anything and it would be frustrating to fix it and have a repeat performance by a mouse.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 05:21 AM   #10
Mad Cow
Member
 
Mad Cow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Iowa
Posts: 30
Needs to be better staffing of quality control.
Mad Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 05:54 AM   #11
rhagfo
Senior Member
 
rhagfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frisbeekev View Post
It's a brand new camper. Worked before. Will check the lines, then get it to the dealer if needed. Thanks
if it worked before, then likely something new is either blocking the duct, or if flexible ducting it may have come disconnect or crushed.

I would check the connections at the furnace first, if you have rigid in floor duct I would make the seal between the duct and furnace better, factories tend to just set the furnace over the hole in the floor! That creates a very poor seal! This is when a roll of good foil duct tape is your best friend. I used to seal all unused covers on our furnace, and all floor connections.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRV2 View Post
This is what we discovered when we pulled out the register on our new 5th wheel.
This looks like loading damage, seeing the carpet in the picture looks like a 5er basement. To me looks like somebody shoved something in to the space and knocked the register box loose and tore it duct. Might think about devising protection for that register box!
__________________
Russ & Paula and Belle the Beagle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 14,000# GVWR (New TV)
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS 32’ GVWR 12,360
Visit and enjoy Oregon State Parks
rhagfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 07:39 AM   #12
IRV2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Redding
Posts: 120
This looks like loading damage, seeing the carpet in the picture looks like a 5er basement. To me looks like somebody shoved something in to the space and knocked the register box loose and tore it duct. Might think about devising protection for that register box!

rhagfo,
My picture wasn't the best and it rotated when uploading, this is not the basement. This is the floor vent beside the kitchen island and dining room slide. I pulled the vent cover off and then took out the register box only to find the ducting was all tore up. We fixed it.
IRV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 09:22 AM   #13
rhagfo
Senior Member
 
rhagfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRV2 View Post
This looks like loading damage, seeing the carpet in the picture looks like a 5er basement. To me looks like somebody shoved something in to the space and knocked the register box loose and tore it duct. Might think about devising protection for that register box!

rhagfo,
My picture wasn't the best and it rotated when uploading, this is not the basement. This is the floor vent beside the kitchen island and dining room slide. I pulled the vent cover off and then took out the register box only to find the ducting was all tore up. We fixed it.
Was it rodent damage?
__________________
Russ & Paula and Belle the Beagle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 14,000# GVWR (New TV)
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS 32’ GVWR 12,360
Visit and enjoy Oregon State Parks
rhagfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 10:47 AM   #14
travelin texans
Senior Member
 
travelin texans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Picacho Peak Rv Resort
Posts: 3,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhagfo View Post
Was it rodent damage?
Yes! The dirty rats that assembled it, that don't give a rat's a## how it's put together.
__________________
Danny & Linda
Former '13 Redwood FB owner
Currently rvless!
travelin texans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 12:10 PM   #15
rhagfo
Senior Member
 
rhagfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelin texans View Post
Yes! The dirty rats that assembled it, that don't give a rat's a## how it's put together.
LOL!
__________________
Russ & Paula and Belle the Beagle.
2016 Ram Laramie 3500 DRW 14,000# GVWR (New TV)
2005 Copper Canyon 293 FWSLS 32’ GVWR 12,360
Visit and enjoy Oregon State Parks
rhagfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2018, 01:55 PM   #16
IRV2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Redding
Posts: 120
What Texas said!!
__________________

IRV2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
floor, heat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×