Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2017, 06:48 PM   #1
rcmike
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: plano,texas
Posts: 70
50 amp power cord

the stock cord that came with my raptor Th for shore power is about 40 feet. I only use this one cord when I'm hooked up at a site. When my rig is parked at the warehouse id like to add about a another 40 feet cord to the stock cord to reach the power plug of 50 amp that I had installed some time ago. Is 80 feet to long of a cord ? I also have a progressive industries hard wired surge protector in Th. Wouldn't it detect if something was not right when I had the 80 foot cord hooked up and register an error? I don't think a 80 foot cord would be a problem. I know at one of the last nascar races locally I saw a bunch of cords longer than 80 feet hooked up to 5th wheels and travel trailers. Just wanted to get an opinion ,,,Thanks in advance
__________________
2017 raptor 398ts pulled by a 16 Chevy Silverado HC 3500 dually with a Duramax
rcmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 06:55 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 18,525
Your EMS will display line voltage and amp draw, so I say plug it in and with everything OFF, see what line voltage it sees. Then turn on one appliance at a time and monitor the voltage and amp draw.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 07:03 PM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 25,264
It's not just "your 80 feet" but the length of supply line (romex or extension cord) from the supply source that runs to the distribution box as well as the amp load that the other trailers connected to that line are drawing. So, you may check it carefully (when only a couple other trailers are connected and they have nothing turned on) and then later, with 8 or 10 trailers on that distribution circuit, all of them running their A/C and water heater and you may find that you're down to 90 volts and everything it "winding down"...

Of course with the progressive circuit monitor to "guard against damage" you should be OK, but you may find that whether you're running a 40' or an 80' cord, depending on the "quality of the power source and the load on it" your length of cord may not even be a factor. I've seen a number of "long cords" on both 30 amp and 50 amp trailers that work extremely well, just protect the plug in the middle of the line with a bucket or a watertite can. You may find that with a little rain shower, that plug is in exactly the same place as the only mud puddle in the entire campground......
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 07:09 PM   #4
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 4,666
You will be fine. A 50 Amp #6 cord at 120v is good for over 100'.
__________________

Brent
2013 Alpine 3500RE
2019 Silverado 2500HD Duramax
U.S. Air Force Retired (25 yrs)
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 03:30 AM   #5
Dave W
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Near Saratoga Springs,
Posts: 1,131
The only concern I would have is that the extension was a true 3 x #6 and 1 x #8 awg set of conductors. I say this as some of the after market sellers have been using 4 x# 8 awg which, depending on the wire code may or may not be enough ampacity but is marginal in any case. I've had no problem with our pigtail and extension running 2 a/c units and whatever else at 90 feet.
Dave W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 04:53 AM   #6
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 2,138
I have the OEM cord that came with the TH (50') and a purchased 30' cord, both of them being 6ga. with the 8ga ground. Where I park my TH, I have to use the extension to plug into my shore power cord. Measuring voltage at the supply is normally 124/125 volts. My progressive brand EMS tells me that it is usually seeing 122/123 volts. That is an acceptable voltage drop, and well within the 10% range of drop.
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2019 Can Am Spyder RT Limited (Phoenix Orange)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 06:50 AM   #7
Outback 325BH
Gone Traveling
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Highland, IL
Posts: 512
50 amp power cord

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmike View Post
the stock cord that came with my raptor Th for shore power is about 40 feet. I only use this one cord when I'm hooked up at a site. When my rig is parked at the warehouse id like to add about a another 40 feet cord to the stock cord to reach the power plug of 50 amp that I had installed some time ago. Is 80 feet to long of a cord ? I also have a progressive industries hard wired surge protector in Th. Wouldn't it detect if something was not right when I had the 80 foot cord hooked up and register an error? I don't think a 80 foot cord would be a problem. I know at one of the last nascar races locally I saw a bunch of cords longer than 80 feet hooked up to 5th wheels and travel trailers. Just wanted to get an opinion ,,,Thanks in advance


80 feet of copper #6 driven by 120 volts pulling 50 amps will have a drop in voltage of 3.16, or 2.63%. Voltage at camper would be 116.84. Completely fine.

Odds are you will never pull 50 amps, so the voltage drop would be even less.

It would take a 250 foot run to get to 110 volts, which is considered the low end of the safe range.

If the source is greater or less than 120 volts, that changes things.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Outback 325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 01:53 PM   #8
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Pull Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 1,258
Shore power cords are mighty expensive!

If this is going to be a permanent arrangement, have you considered moving your 50amp outlet to an area that you can reach with one 40 footer? You already have the 50 amp wall outlet, and a junction box. All you would need now is a 50 foot roll of solid wire, another junction box, and a few wire nuts. The added advantage is that you don't have 80 feet of very expensive power cords laying on the concrete/ground, waiting to be run over or dragged out od the way.

Just a thought.

Good Luck,
__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET IV"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.