RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2017, 11:59 AM   #1
Andre517
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Lambertville
Posts: 5
Adding electrical outlets

Is this hard to do in RVs? Is it the same as your house? I'm pretty ignorant about these things.

Andre
__________________

Andre517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 12:15 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 12,950
Hard is a relative term. If you know where you want to put the plug, where to run the Romex, and what circuit you want to add ito it's easy.
__________________

__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 03:18 PM   #3
B-O-B'03
Senior Member
 
B-O-B'03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 984
I posted this, in another thread.

Adding outlets is really easy to do.

-Brian
__________________
2014 Bullet Premier 22RBPR - let the camping commence!
2013 F150 Platinum - 5.0 - 3.55 ELD + towing package
B-O-B'03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 03:30 PM   #4
Outback 325BH
Gone Traveling
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Highland, IL
Posts: 512
Adding electrical outlets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre517 View Post
Is this hard to do in RVs? Is it the same as your house? I'm pretty ignorant about these things.

Andre


The hardest part would be running the Romex. Depending on where the receptacle will be, that may not be an issue.

They are done the exact same way as your home, except you will be fastening the receptacle to cheesy paneling instead of studs. (Unless you camper is different.)

I plan to install one or two on a wall very close to my breaker box, so running Romex will be easy. I would like more in other places but they are harder to access. I'll have to think that over a bit first. If you have access to under your camper it should be easier. Mine is all covered with coroplast so I can't see anything. I'll probably cut into that someday.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Outback 325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 05:25 PM   #5
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,810
I'm probably going to add one outside, on the passenger side towards the rear of the Toy Hauler......basically in the garage area, only outside. I need a place to plug in my tire warmers for the track bike and there's nothing there except in the front of the trailer by the T.V. ant. hookup. Coroplast under mine too, but hopefully I'll just be able to remove a bunch of the self-tapping screws they install and let it drop down enough to run the Romex down out of the breaker panel and over to the other side of the trailer and mount the box/recept.....then put the Coroplast back in place without cutting it.
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2019 Can Am Spyder RT Limited (Phoenix Orange)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 02:40 PM   #6
Bob Landry
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 1,889
Depending on where you want to add them, you will likely run into styrofoam insulation in the walls and it will be next to impossible to run any kind of wiring through it.
I've done a lot of wiring mods on my Outback including adding an additional 30A service I and ran romex under the trailer and up into open areas of the cabinetry. Kitchen cabinets are the easiest to snake your wire through.
Don't be afraid to cut access opening in the coroplast. It's easily patched with Gorilla Tape.
Don't forget that any outlet exposed to the elements needs to be either wired off of a GFCI outlet or it's own GFCI breaker.
__________________
2011 Outback 277RL
2013 F250 XLT Crew Cab 6.2L

Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 03:08 PM   #7
Pull Toy
Senior Member
 
Pull Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southeastern Connectiut
Posts: 1,188
More info please? Inside, outside... etc,
__________________

Pull Toy

Steve & Jan, Ava & Emma (Mini Schnauzers):
2016 F350 Lariat 4X4 Powerstroke CC/SB "PULLTOY V"
2013 Alpine 3535RE "MAGIC CARPET IV"
Proud Navy Vet!
Pull Toy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2017, 11:35 PM   #8
Andre517
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Lambertville
Posts: 5
Inside at this point. I'm thinking in kitchen and bedroom
Andre517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 09:07 AM   #9
PARAPTOR
Site Team | Emeritus
 
PARAPTOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Western PA
Posts: 2,733
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre517 View Post
Inside at this point. I'm thinking in kitchen and bedroom
Keep in mind that any plugs near water such as bathroom, kitchen, outside plugs need to be protected with a GFI. You can either add a GFI receptacle or use a standard receptacle and daisy chain off an existing GFI receptacle. Determine where you are going to get your power for the new plug 1) if off main Power Distribution Panel you will need to install a GFI receptacle 2 if tapping off a nearby plug check to see if it is powered from an existing GFI (generally at least one is located in the bathroom). Trip that GFI and see if you still have power to the plug you want to tap off of. If power went off when you tripped the GFI, that plug is protected and your new plug you want to add can be a standard receptacle. If not, and you are sure there is no other GFI receptacles in the rig you will need to install a GFI receptacle.

Keep in mind when adding to existing circuits it is nice to know what is all on the circuit that you are adding to

ADDED: Remember to reset all the GFI's when done testing
__________________
2013 RAPTOR 300MP w/Rear Patio Deck NO Folding Side Ladder
2013 Silverado 3500HD LTZ CC LB 4X4 DRW
Duramax 6.6L Turbo Diesel; Allison Trans
Reese 20K; Carlisle Radial Trail RH/HD; TPMS (12 Tires)

Veteran


PSU (GO LIONS)
PARAPTOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:06 AM   #10
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,810
Another option, if your GFCI receptacles are already approaching load capacity, is to install a GFCI breaker in the panel and use it to feed your new receptacle. Any receptacles added onto that circuit would be GFCI protected also
__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2019 Can Am Spyder RT Limited (Phoenix Orange)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 01:40 PM   #11
Outback 325BH
Gone Traveling
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Highland, IL
Posts: 512
The GFCI should be rated for the circuit.

If adding a new circuit, just install a GFCI receptacle at the beginning... and all downstream receptacles will be protected.

The only time I would use a GFCI breaker is if the first receptacle was outside and didn't want a GFCI outside.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Outback 325BH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 01:44 PM   #12
xrated
Senior Member
 
xrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: "Murvil, TN
Posts: 1,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outback 325BH View Post
The GFCI should be rated for the circuit.

If adding a new circuit, just install a GFCI receptacle at the beginning... and all downstream receptacles will be protected.

The only time I would use a GFCI breaker is if the first receptacle was outside and didn't want a GFCI outside.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And that is exactly where my new circuit is going..........outside, towards the rear of the trailer for plugging tire warmers into.....approx. 1100 watt load.
__________________

__________________
2016 F350 King Ranch Crew Cab Dually Diesel 4x4
2018 Grand Design Momentum 394M
2019 Can Am Spyder RT Limited (Phoenix Orange)
Excessive payload capacity is a wonderful thing

"If it ain't Fast....It ain't Fun"
xrated is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, outlets

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×