Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2014, 07:21 PM   #1
b.d.keathley
Member
 
b.d.keathley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: victorville ca nxt des arc ar
Posts: 73
what size generator for 2 15k btu ac's

Wantin to buy a generator. I have two 15k btu generators and need a 50 amp power outlet. The generators I look at that that are above 5500 watts all the way up to 15000 watts all have a 30 amp 240volt outlet. I don't see how that works being that I need a 50 amp outlet. The volts look okay but the adaptor would be the 30 amp cord which im sure would melt if they were both running. Any thoughts?? Im looking at Lowes and Home Depot.
b.d.keathley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 07:52 PM   #2
rnkburg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KY
Posts: 386
You won't find anything on the shelf that will have 50 Amps at lowes or depot. You can special order from there but know that lowes has to make 27% on a special order so you could find the same generator cheaper elsewhere. And for the price they ask for the 50 amp unit you would be better off to Check with Onan and just get the camper style one instead. Yeah there is no cart but I am sure it could be arranged to get one


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rnkburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2014, 08:12 PM   #3
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 25,219
The Dometic owner's manual for air conditioners has a chart listing the power requirements for each of their units. Generally speaking, they state that for 15K BTU A/C's, generator requirements for one unit is 3500 watts and 2 units is 5000 watts.

You're not going to find a generator in the 5000 watt range with a 50 amp plug. There are some adapters that would allow you to use the generator's 30 amp plug and 20 amp plug to power your RV. That would (should) give you the entire 5000 watts provided the generator is wired to accept your adapter/power cord.
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 05:42 AM   #4
jje1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 692
Adapter

See pic, they are readily available, online or I've even seen them at Walmart or Camping World.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2011 F350 DRW 4X4
"The Beast"
2011 Cougar 325 SRX
jje1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 06:46 AM   #5
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
My parallel kit came with a twist-type 30A plug, but no cord. ;-( I made one with a spare 50/30 adapter I had. The two 2000's will run the bedroom's 13,500, but not the living room's 15,000.
__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 03:49 PM   #6
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 2,509
On the Home Depot site, they show a generator that might fit your needs:

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Champion-...1534/203649714
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402 Montana
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC
bobbecky is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 05:58 PM   #7
rnkburg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: KY
Posts: 386
One thing to note about champion generators. They have a low oil cut off switch that will kill the engine of it gets low on oil. This is a great thing but from the service industry we see many of these go out rather quickly and the generator won't start but for a second. Champion will not replace under warranty as it cost so much in labor to fix this If you are out and it does not start AFTER you make sure you have enough oil you can unplug the switch and the gen will run just fine. I have seen several come back with this issue and the customers are not happy they bring them in and we show them that knowing they could have had power for the rest of there trip or job they needed the generator for. Other than that they have proven to be good units so far from the service side of things and champion has been good to work with


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rnkburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 02:08 PM   #8
jje1960
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 692
15k

Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert185 View Post
My parallel kit came with a twist-type 30A plug, but no cord. ;-( I made one with a spare 50/30 adapter I had. The two 2000's will run the bedroom's 13,500, but not the living room's 15,000.
I would bet if you put an extra start capacitor on the 15K it will start without problem with your 2X Honda setup. I did this a couple of years ago and made a big difference. My Boliy starts and restarts our 15K.
__________________
2011 F350 DRW 4X4
"The Beast"
2011 Cougar 325 SRX
jje1960 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 05:16 PM   #9
christopherglenn
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 1 hour from Yosemite
Posts: 165
My 5500 onan will run both ac's and the microwave at the same time - if the microwave starts last. Most and 5kw or larger will run both 15k ac's - start one and let it run for 5-10 seconds so the generator can stabilize, then start the other. Get whatever adapter is required to make a 50 amp plug off the generator. If you truly want 50 amp 240, you are 12kw+ generator (and massive overkill). electricgeneratorsdirect.com has a lot of generators to compare. Remember, the NON inverter type generators tend to be a lot louder (and cheaper) then the inverter type. If anyone is anywhere near you with the loud generator running, you wont be making friends..
__________________
2007 Chevrolet 3500 CC/LB Duramax/Dually 4X4 Mine r4tech, Reese Signature Series 18k +slider, duratrac, titan 62 gallon, diamond eye, Cheetah 64, EFI Live
2008 Chevrolet 2500 CC/SB Duramax 4X4 Hers r4tech, duratrac
2011 Keystone Fusion 405 TrailAir & Triglide, Centerpoint, gen-turi, 3 PVX-840T, XANTREX FREEDOM SW3012, G614
2013 Yamaha 242LS
2010 GMC Yukon The Bus
2005 Chevrolet 2500 CC/SB Duramax 4X4 Hers (sold)
2006 Jayco Jay Flight 31BHS (sold)
christopherglenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 09:35 PM   #10
Desert185
Senior Member
 
Desert185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by jje1960 View Post
I would bet if you put an extra start capacitor on the 15K it will start without problem with your 2X Honda setup. I did this a couple of years ago and made a big difference. My Boliy starts and restarts our 15K.
When I tried it the fridge was on electric. Might work if the fridge were on propane.
__________________
Desert185 🇺🇸 (Retired Chemtrail vendor)
-Ram 2500 QC, LB, 4x4, Cummins HO/exhaust brake, 6-speed stick.
-Andersen Ultimate 24K 5er Hitch.
-2014 Cougar 326SRX, Maxxis tires w/TPMS, wet bolts, two 6v batts.
-Four Wheel 8' Popup Camper.
Desert185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.