Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 05-23-2023, 10:05 AM   #1
Sandals 123

Total novice - Solar question

Hello all, first off let me state CLEARLY that I have zero knowledge or skills when it comes to electrical systems. Having that out of the way, I have a question about Solar panels to charge batteries and run basic items in the RV.

I have a 2019 29RKS and it came with the Solar connection option. I camp often on a riverbank with no power available and I need to replace my generator so I thought I might explore the idea of Solar panel (s) as well. I was just at my dealer and they said that to install a decent solar system, I would be looking at $4-5K!!!

Any (simple) replies with ideas welcome - how to best proceed?

Thanks in advance,
Alan
Sandals 123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2023, 11:57 AM   #2
LHaven

Avoid this dealer -- he's lowballing you.
I wish I were kidding, but... I find that newbies start out with the expectation that they will get a lot more capacity from solar than they do. That's my personal experience, anyway.
The catch-22 of solar is that it works best in climates where you need the refrigeration (A/C) that it is least able to power.
I'll let somebody answer you who has solar and is happy with it.
Old 05-23-2023, 04:30 PM   #3
firestation12

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandals 123 View Post
Hello all, first off let me state CLEARLY that I have zero knowledge or skills when it comes to electrical systems. Having that out of the way, I have a question about Solar panels to charge batteries and run basic items in the RV.