RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2021, 11:18 AM   #41
elranas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: PHOENIX
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybouy View Post
We had a couple of folks that have posted similar issue after installing the insect screens. They removed the screen and the unit functioned fine. Might be worth a try.
Thank you. It will behave the same without the insect screen covers.
__________________

elranas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 01:20 PM   #42
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 11,223
If you have an insect screen on the trailer I would take it off if you are using the unit. I did that and it caused exactly what you are experiencing. It looked like there is no way it could cause an issue but.....problem solved the minute I took it off. Also, IIRC the manual says there should be nothing to restrict the exhaust or this happens....and mine did it.
__________________

__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 53 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 01:41 PM   #43
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Middle River
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by elranas View Post
@flybouy, yes insect screen is installed. We have two new furnaces so I don't think this is the problem. By the way, we did blow air into the combustion chamber of the old furnace to make sure it was clean and it was.

@jasin1 yes, I jumped the thermostat and the furnace is leveled. What do you mean: "flue accounted for and not recirculating the exhaust gas". No, I don't think it has a sliding heat anticipator but I might be wrong. Here is a picture of my thermostat: https://www.dropbox.com/s/l2krd2u1yr...tat.jpg?dl=0No,
I'm not sure it is not a duct issue mainly because I'm confused from the contradicting data I have so far. Sorry for the poor drawing but this is how my duct system looks like:*https://www.dropbox.com/s/105themuxb...awing.png?dl=0 *

@chuckster57 yes, that is exactly what I did. I twisted the two blue wires to bypass the thermostat.

@flybouy I bench tested it while connected to the trailer gas line and another time connected to a new gas line -- the one you see in the video I just posted (same propane tank and I have two of them running in parallel*while connected to the railer).
I thought you said it was also doing the same thing when you bench tested it originally. I was making sure you had some sort of temporary flue pipe hooked up and it wasnít recirculating the exhaust from the flue into the return while you bench tested. I have no way of knowing your mechanical skills so I wanted to be sure you had the furnace level like itís installed in the rv and not standing on an end or tipped to one side while you tested because the placement of the limit switch could be affected by that.
I still wouldnít rule out the ductwork ..and the worst thing you could do now is rule out anything because when you refuse to look at all possibilities you can easily overlook something. Iíve had times when I was so sure it couldnít be one thing and delayed figuring it out. Itís best to start over and go through the basics.
Is there a pressure switch in the inducer motor circuit for the flue? Because that is a definite possibility that the screen as flybuoy said could be causing back pressure and opening the pressure switch.
I would check gas pressure at furnace with a manometer
Check temperature rise of furnace
Put a meter across the hi limit switch terminals and see if the switch is actually opening and shutting off the furnace when the problem occurs(connect with alligator clips)
Jump the thermostat out while the furnace is in the trailer to rule that out( if you havenít already tried that while IN the rv)
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2021, 01:45 PM   #44
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Middle River
Posts: 1,074
The gas pressure at the regulator you had while bench tested may be factory set at 10” wc and the rv might be as high as 11” if not set properly. That could affect the heat output of the furnace depending on how the furnace regulator is set up. This is probably a long shot because the furnace regulator should step it down to what it needs.

My point only being that you need to know what your gas pressure is at the rv
__________________

__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×