Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 09-28-2022, 06:45 PM   #1
wired1236

Solarflex 400i and the giggy box

I recently purchased a 31BHKWE and had the dealer upgrade to the 400i solar with inverter system. I noticed that the smart shunt was not noticing the amperage of the 12v circuits like lights, fans, or other appliances that it should be. So I looked at the wiring of the shunt and they simply installed it between the main battery cable and the inverter. There’s no connection to the giggly box ground. The way I understand it is that ALL loads are to come from the shunt. Also, the giggly box has a ground to the frame, now I’m not an electrical engineer but I do know that all electrical circuits will follow the least path of resistance so even if they ran a ground to the shunt and removed the ground going to the battery from the giggly box, they would also have to remove the frame ground too. Sound right.,
wired1236 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2022, 06:51 PM   #2
Javi

The shunt has to be between the battery and any ground. Once past the shunt the frame is the ground of choice.
Old 09-28-2022, 06:57 PM   #3
wired1236

Exactly. So they didn’t do that. Either I’ll have to take it in (to keep any sort of warranty) or run a 4awg ground to the shunt from the giggly box and remove the other battery ground in the giggly box once I figure out which wire that is. Then I may just also remove the frame ground inside the giggly box as the battery has a dedicated ground already connected directly to the frame.

Or is what you are saying to do is remove the dedicated frame ground off the battery, and run a new ground from the shunt to the giggly box?
Old 09-29-2022, 05:32 AM   #4
Javi

Quote:
Originally Posted by wired1236 View Post