Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2022, 07:25 PM   #41
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 11,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiredgeorge View Post
I think the lady is set up with a 30A outlet and uses a 50 to 30 amp adapter if I recall from previous posts. I still wonder how long the run is and I personally would have used a single 30A breaker. I suspect the source panel may not have had enough excess to add a 50A service but could be wrong about that. 8/2 is probably OK unless it is a real long feed (that is why I asked).
8/2 cannot be used for 50 Amp 220v or any other 220 service. By definition 8/2 romex is #8 wire with 2 conductors, a line and a neutral. You must have 3 conductors, 2 lines and a nuetral.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 08:09 PM   #42
wiredgeorge
Senior Member
 
wiredgeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Mico, TX
Posts: 6,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by flybouy View Post
8/2 cannot be used for 50 Amp 220v or any other 220 service. By definition 8/2 romex is #8 wire with 2 conductors, a line and a neutral. You must have 3 conductors, 2 lines and a nuetral.
Whoever hooked this up used two breakers so 8/2 wouldn't make much sense. Dunno. I have several 220V tools and hook up with 8/3 using two breakers... can't recall for sure but perhaps 30A for the ganged breakers.
__________________
wiredgeorge Mico TX
2006 F350 CC 4WD 6.0L
2002 Keystone Cougar 278
2006 GL1800 Roadsmith Trike
wiredgeorge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 08:25 PM   #43
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 18,133
8/2 Romex will have 3 conductors right?

Hot, neutral and ground. Is the ground not considered a conductor? Just askin late on a Friday night, heavily “medicated”.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2022, 09:23 PM   #44
bobbecky
Senior Member
 
bobbecky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Box Elder
Posts: 2,463
Yes, 8/2 Romex will have three wires, two insulated and one bare ground wire.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/Southwir...357741#overlay
By the way, the description on the Home Depot site says stranded wire, but it really is three solid wires, I guess maybe three strands. This will be one hot leg, one neutral, and one ground.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8__2 romex.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	67.1 KB
ID:	42434  
__________________
Bob & Becky
2012 3402 Montana
2012 Chevy 2500HD D/A CC
bobbecky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 05:14 AM   #45
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 15,974
It appears the entire setup was a wild "guess" at what to put in and as has been suggested many times, a competent electrician needs to "relick this cow" so to speak.

The breaker is wrong no matter how you slice it. It appears the intent was to wire a 50A services with a double pole 40A breaker??? Then, if I understand correctly it was rewired "right" using this same breaker?? Even if one hot side is removed the breaker is still wrong. Wiring? Outlet? I'm not going to begin to guess what's wrong there. Hopefully a knowledgeable person steps in to fix this before everything in the trailer is ruined or someone is severely injured or killed.
__________________
Danny and Susan, wife of 55 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2022, 06:01 AM   #46
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 11,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
8/2 Romex will have 3 conductors right?

Hot, neutral and ground. Is the ground not considered a conductor? Just askin late on a Friday night, heavily “medicated”.
The group is not considered a conductor. It is there in case the nuetral fails. The line and nuetral are the "normal" conductors, i.e. if you look at a schematic or wiring diagram of an ac circuit it is not necessary to complete the circuit. A tool that's "double insulated" doesn't require a ground because there is no conducting material anywhere that can be touched, making the user the conductor in the event of a neutral line failure.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 02:46 PM   #47
CedarCreekWoody
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Trinidad,TX
Posts: 835
It certainly sounds this was first connected to 240 volts and this almost always blows the converter. It most likely needs replacing. If this is truly a 30 amp circuit then 8 guage is fine. As suggested by others get an electrician familiar with RVs or a moble tech before doing more damage.
__________________
Woody
Cedar Creek Lake, Texas
2019 Laredo 290 SRL
2019 Ram 2500, 4x4, Cummins diesel
Andersen hitch
CedarCreekWoody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2022, 04:42 PM   #48
Anastasia Beaverhausen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Winter Park-Winter/Iowa-Summer
Posts: 19
I bought a single pole 30 breaker. The wire is fine. And I bought a new converter/charger.

I will replace the breaker first and then install the new converter.

Plan to do this sometime tomorrow so I will let you all know how it came out.

Thanks for all of the helpful input. It's really appreciated.
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moratati

2021 Keystone Outback 330RL
Anastasia Beaverhausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2022, 06:24 PM   #49
Anastasia Beaverhausen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Winter Park-Winter/Iowa-Summer
Posts: 19
Fixed!

So, I found out that there was a double pole 30amp breaker installed. When my cousin rewired it, he just wired it to one of the poles instead of both. So I didn't bother putting in a single pole.

Got the new converter/charger installed and all is working as it should be. Very thankful that is all over.

Again, thanks for all the input.

Happy Holidays Everyone!
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moratati

2021 Keystone Outback 330RL
Anastasia Beaverhausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2022, 06:55 PM   #50
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 15,974
To clarify; in post 48 you said you bought a new 30A single pole breaker (correct). In a previous post you linked a 40A double pole breaker (wrong) which was what he (I assume) wired you up with causing the problems. In post 49 you said he "re wired" it to just one side (40A).

Are you now running on a new single pole 30A breaker with one hot lead to your RV receptacle or ?? I ask because this has been rather confusing and you've had a lot of issues/damage/trouble - it needs to be right for your safety and convenience.
__________________
Danny and Susan, wife of 55 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 03:32 AM   #51
Anastasia Beaverhausen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Winter Park-Winter/Iowa-Summer
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by sourdough View Post
To clarify; in post 48 you said you bought a new 30A single pole breaker (correct). In a previous post you linked a 40A double pole breaker (wrong) which was what he (I assume) wired you up with causing the problems. In post 49 you said he "re wired" it to just one side (40A).

Are you now running on a new single pole 30A breaker with one hot lead to your RV receptacle or ?? I ask because this has been rather confusing and you've had a lot of issues/damage/trouble - it needs to be right for your safety and convenience.
Sorry for the confusion.

I was under the impression that he had used a double pole 40 amp because that's what the receipt said.

So I went and bought a single pole 30 amp.

The first time he wired it, he wired it 220 instead of 110. He re-wired it to 110.

Then I found out that he took back the 40 amp breaker and replaced it with a 30 amp double pole.

I didn't see a need to take out the double pole and put in the single pole since it is now only wired to one of the poles.

I changed out the converter last night and everything is working as it should be.

Does that clear things up?
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moratati

2021 Keystone Outback 330RL
Anastasia Beaverhausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 04:33 AM   #52
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anastasia Beaverhausen View Post
Sorry for the confusion.

I was under the impression that he had used a double pole 40 amp because that's what the receipt said.

So I went and bought a single pole 30 amp.

The first time he wired it, he wired it 220 instead of 110. He re-wired it to 110.

Then I found out that he took back the 40 amp breaker and replaced it with a 30 amp double pole.

I didn't see a need to take out the double pole and put in the single pole since it is now only wired to one of the poles.

I changed out the converter last night and everything is working as it should be.

Does that clear things up?

It’s not against code to wire to one side of a two pole breaker but imo you created confusion for anyone that has to work on that panel in the future…i don’t know why you wouldn’t have just put a single pole breaker and label it properly…you can buy a plastic snap in cover for the open space or stick a separate unused breaker in it space.

someone will look at that breaker and try to figure out if the breaker or the receptacle is wrong…hopefully they don’t try and connect it for 240 again.

you will have to explain this entire story to every single unlicensed “electrician” that works in that panel going forward.
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 05:12 AM   #53
Anastasia Beaverhausen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2022
Location: Winter Park-Winter/Iowa-Summer
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasin1 View Post
you will have to explain this entire story to every single non licensed “electrician” that works in that panel going forward.
You have a valid point there for sure. I will have the guy that wired it change it out. He does know what he's doing, he owns an air conditioning company and wires stuff all the time. He was just confused as he had never wired for an RV before.

Thanks
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moratati

2021 Keystone Outback 330RL
Anastasia Beaverhausen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 10:27 AM   #54
notanlines
Senior Member
 
notanlines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 5,927
You always have to check behind those owners of hvac companies….
__________________
Jim in Memphis, Wife of 51 years is Brenda
2019 F450 6.7 Powerstroke
2018 Mobile Suites 40RSSA
2021 40' Jayco Eagle
2001 Road king w/matching Harley sidecar
2021 Yamaha X2 Wolverine 1000
notanlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 12:45 PM   #55
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by notanlines View Post
You always have to check behind those owners of hvac companies….
that’s for sure lol
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.