Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 08-02-2021, 07:32 AM   #1
turbojimmy

Basic Uncoupling Questions

I'm totally new to towing and have a few questions.

I towed my bullet to my house for the first time last week (or maybe it was the week before, I don't recall exactly). Anyway, it was my first time. My property is steep. Driveway is 500 feet long and levels at the top on a small area (maybe 40' by 40'). I expanded the parking area with asphalt millings another 50 feet or so but it's not level by any stretch of the imagination.

Parking attempt #1. I put it where I thought I wanted it. I put ramps on one side to try to get it level and blocked the wheels on the other side. The coupler didn't want to come off the ball. I later realized this was a clue. I raised the tongue up to where it was lifting the back of the truck. I nudged the truck forward and the coupler popped off. The tongue of the trailer went where gravity wanted it to go, which was down my steep driveway. Thankfully it stopped after a few feet. I hooked it back up to the truck and came up with a different strategy. Glad to have lived to tell about it.

Plan B was to put it on the level part of the driveway until I could recover from my panic attack. It uncoupled without drama like it should. After a week in this spot I realized it couldn't stay there. I have 5 drivers in the house and 6 vehicles to park.