Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 10-20-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
Capebreton

Air bags

Hey guys,

I am considering using air bags to prevent some sag in the rear of my truck. I am driving a 2010 F150 screw with tow package. The hitch was setup at the dealer when I purchased my 2013 Cougar 28rbs. Is it worthwhile to invest in an airbag system to level my vehicle? I realize it will not increase my tow capacity but just considering if it will help with sway. Any suggestions or experience with similar setup would be greatly appreciated. This past summer was my first year towing an RV (other than a hardtop) so i'm open to any pros & cons as i'm still a newbie at this. Thanks!

Capebreton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 03:22 PM   #2
hankpage
Site Team

The front of your TV looks high .... I would try readjusting your WD hitch before adding air-bags. You can always change it back and it does not cost anything. JM2¢, Hank
hankpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 03:59 PM   #3
Capebreton

Hankpage,,,it's the Equalizer 2 f(E2) hitch. It was already setup by the dealer, so you think they would have tuned it?
Old 10-20-2013, 04:34 PM   #4
JRTJH
Site Team

Some dealerships do an excellent job of adjusting the hitch. They measure the front bumper and adjust the hitch angle/bar tension to get the truck to sit properly. Other dealerships hook 'em all up and slap the chains to the 4th link every time.... What your dealer did, who knows???? It doesn't cost you anything to take your rig to a level concrete pad (vacant parking lot) unhitch, measure the height of the front bumper (or wheel wells) then hitch the trailer, measure the same spot and adjust the bars until the bumper (or wheel wells) returns to the "unhitched height"