Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 03-13-2022, 07:41 PM   #1
jvincenzo

inverter and battery ah requirements

trying to upgrade my sg278 to do a little boondocking and i seem to have hit a snag…i purchased a 100ah lithium battery and will upgrade my converter/charger to a lithium model soon. in an effort to be able to “grow into” a more robust AC system, i went ahead and got a 3000w inverter from renogy.
we planned on buying more batteries over time as money permits.

i’ve got the battery hooked up with 1/0 cable, 4 feet long, on my bench.

What i’m seeing is that the inverter trips whenever i try to run anything larger then about 750w AC.

Seems like i should be able to use a 900w coffee maker for at least a few minutes!

i’m really new to this and would appreciate any thoughts or guidance!
thanks, jv
jvincenzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2022, 08:02 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team

There are LED's on the faceplate of the inverter. You should have a green power on LED and the yellow and red LED's should be off. If the yellow LED is lit, it means you have a GFCI condition and the inverter is detecting a problem with the ground. If you wired it yourself, you may have a "crossed neutral/hot lead at one of the connections or at one of the plugs.

Have you tried to operate something simple like a 120 volt lamp ? Plug one into the outlet and see if you get the same condition. If so, it's likely a GFCI issue.

2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2022, 09:35 PM   #3
GHen