Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 09-13-2016, 08:31 PM   #1
greenjody

Which TT to choose?

I am currently looking at 3 almost identical Keystone TT's with different weight profiles. I am new to trailer hauling (Currently have Class C" so want some advice. My tow vehicle has a max tow of 7,200lbs and tongue weight of 720. I plan to get an Anderson WD hitch and want advice on the following:

Which is more important in safely hauling TT: Hitch weight, empty weight plus expected cargo and passengers or length of trailer. I don't expect to get anywhere near the max carry capacity since we will not take long trips with more than 2 people. We will use the extra sleeping capacity when parked near home or where the kids will meet us on trips to fun places. Kids are adults.

For example, I am looking a these three options and I like them in the order presented:

1. Empty weight: 5470 Max Carry: 2085 Hitch weight: 555 Length: 31' 7"
2. Empty weight: 5288 Max Carry: 2297 Hitch weight: 585 Length: 30' 9"
3. Empty weight: 5085 Max Carry: 1875 Hitch weight: 625 Length: 30' 6"

Maybe you can see my question. The heavier and longer TT has the lowest Hitch Weight. I was told on another forum that hitch weight is the most important if you are within normal range elsewhere. What do you all think? I would appreciate any advice. Thanks in advance.
greenjody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2016, 01:17 AM   #2
busterbrown

Hello, welcome to the forum. Before the weight police chime in, what will you be towing with?