Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 07-14-2016, 07:29 AM   #1
camperbrian

Took home new TT

I brought home my new Passport 2810bh yesterday and I'm pleased with it I thought towing would go a little better. There was a slight cross wind that gave the trailer some sway on the highway and kept me on the edge of my seat but mainly because I'm a newb at towing something this large. I kept the cruise at 63. The dealer installed a Husky centerline TS, and it seems like a good system although I'm going to tighten it up one notch to see if it improves. I reset my mileage before I left the dealer and averaged 9mpg I have a 13 Ecoboost 3.31 gears. I was somewhat disappointed with the power but I have to remember I'm towing 5200lbs. I believe airbags would help, but I think LT tires would be might best upgrade to the truck at this point.
I couldn't get the ball to release from the trailer after I got the tt home. I ended up pulling the pin from the hitch, and SLOWLY pulled the truck ahead so the hitch would come out of the receiver. This worked, but made me nervous doing it. Anyways I'm sure I'll get more comfortable with the I more tow it.
camperbrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2016, 07:45 AM   #2
Mike484

Congrats

I carry a rubber mallet with me for the hitch, always gotta use it to latch and unlatch the hitch. Sometimes you gotta raise and lower the jack a little to get it loose. When hitching it up, you may even need to move your truck forward or back just a tad to get the hitch to latch.

I normally get 18 mpg on my truck, 9 mpg while pulling. I just learned to accept it as part of the cost of owning an RV.