Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tires, Tires, Tires!
Click Here to Login

Old 10-23-2012, 12:11 PM   #1
Outbackmel

Towmaster question

Looks like luck was not in my favor. I posted, and that night, the forum changed and trashed my issue. Let's try again. This one is not rocket science.

I have low mileage, Towmaster tires, and about a month ago, I barely touched a curb at under 5mph and DID NOT hit the rim. As a result, I have developed a very slow leak and it's frustrating to say the least. The rig has aluminum wheels.

Question: anyone have experience putting tubes into the tire casing? What is your experience. Also, Do I need to haul this rig from my site. all set up, and tow it to an RV center to have this done? I have no experience in jacking this type of vehicle. Would not want to potentially damage the RV by trial and error jacking and blocking.

36ft, 2011, Outback fifth wheel, triple slide.

All comments are appreciated.

Moderator's Note : Outbackmel ---You have a similar post in the Repairs and Maintenance section that was posted yesterday and it was still there when I last checked. Is that the one you are referring to? Leave this post here but you might want to check to see if the one that was "trashed" is still here. Thanks.
Outbackmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
therink

Hi
I have the same rig. Jacking the trailer is not hard. I use wood blocks and two bottle jacks placed on frame just fore and aft of the axles (one side at a time). I hitch up to the truck and set emergency brake as added stability measure.
I don't recommend using a tube on a tubeless tire. Just take your time and jack a little at a time. Becareful not to place wooden block on any propane plumbing that may be mounted to the frame member.