Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Old 07-30-2019, 10:25 AM   #1
Mroe67

Wheel bearings

Read a few posts about wheels heating up, and some fires resulting from wheel bearing issues. With that in mind, how often should you check and re-pack 5th wheel, wheel bearings?
Mroe67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 10:56 AM   #2
cookinwitdiesel

I am also curious to learn more here. I am no mechanic, I just don't mind taking apart stuff and doing my own work.
(OLD) 2018 Keystone Hideout 28RKS Travel Trailer
cookinwitdiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 11:00 AM   #3
Mroe67

Yah, i’m not to worried at the moment, as we probably only have 1000 miles on ours if that, but want to know “when”! To do the check and potentially rebuild them. Done bearing several times, so I don’t see it being to difficult.
Mroe67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2019, 12:25 PM   #4
JRTJH
Site Team

I check/repack my bearings every fall before storage. Last year I repacked them all, changed out the seals and all was good.

Fast forward to this spring, we made a 6000 mile trip to Las Vegas, came back through Utah, Colorado, towing in the mountains on some pretty rough "winter heave" roads. After returning from that trip, we put about 1500 miles on the trailer with local trips. This past weekend, we towed 160 miles away for a family campout near Flint. As we were driving through the campground entry gate (3-4 MPH) in the side mirror, I noticed the side of the trailer bulge, immediately slammed on brakes and stopped the rig. The left (driver's side) rear wheel and hub had separated from the spindle.