Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone RV Customer Comments > Keystone RV Service & Warranty Issues
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2021, 10:28 AM   #1
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
Need contact Info

We are living in our new Keystone Premier Bullet as we just moved to Sioux Falls. When we set it up we dicovered the thermostat isnt working. I need to get this repaired as soon as possible. The dealership is closed till Jan 2nd
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 10:31 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
What brand? Does your trailer have ďin commandĒ?
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:15 PM   #3
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
It is a Keystone Premier by Bullet 30 RI. I believe it does have the"in command".
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:26 PM   #4
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
There has been known issues with the furnace not working below 40 degrees. If you can find the thermister usually mounted on the wall, warm it up with a hair dryer and try. In command is a Jensen product made by ASA electronics. Keystone probably wonít be if much help.

Here is a link to the HVAC section:

https://in-command.net/wp-content/up...3-HVAC-QRG.pdf

This link should get you some contact info:

https://in-command.net/
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:43 PM   #5
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
I believe it is a wiring issue as the fuse is good but there the panel is non operational
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:48 PM   #6
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
Did it work when you picked it up? Did the selling dealer give you a ďwalk throughĒ showing you everything worked?
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 01:52 PM   #7
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
I realize itís Christmas Day, and tomorrow is Sunday. I would call a mobile rv tech that KNOWS the in command system.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 02:04 PM   #8
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Smith View Post
I believe it is a wiring issue as the fuse is good but there the panel is non operational
If itís REAL cold and the BCM is in a non heated compartment, I doubt itís a wiring issue.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 03:16 PM   #9
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
We got a brief walk through he only showed us the controller he did not turn on the system. Should have insisted on a complete walkthrough. I will look for a mobile service. I wonder if the warranty will reimburse for the cost
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 03:26 PM   #10
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Smith View Post
We got a brief walk through he only showed us the controller he did not turn on the system. Should have insisted on a complete walkthrough. I will look for a mobile service. I wonder if the warranty will reimburse for the cost
Makes me wonder if they even checked it.

It should be. If your using electric heaters, be careful of how many your using at a time, RV wiring isn’t built to take a very heavy load. We use oil filled radiators as they take much less electricity to warm up and are much safer around kids and pets.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 03:52 PM   #11
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 13,648
The 30RIPR is a Premier trailer and not Bullet. From the video I am linking it does NOT have In Command in the video (Keystone does not specify that it does either on it's website - look at approx. 4:05 of the video). The video is of a new unit, you did not state the year of yours.

If it has a "thermostat" and not In Command what type of thermostat is it? Can you attach a pic? In Command will not have a typical thermostat.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 54 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 08:52 AM   #12
LHaven
Senior Member
 
LHaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Wickenburg
Posts: 2,135
Since Dave is new here, this approach may be easier:
If your "thermostat" doesn't roughly resemble a gray display panel like this (the frame, not necessarily the contents), you don't have inCommand.

Maybe even easier, the inCommand website doesn't list the Bullet as one of the models in which inCommand is available (LINK).
__________________
2019 Cougar 26RBSWE
2019 Ford F-250
LHaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 11:56 AM   #13
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 13,648
Holy Cow! Looks like I forgot the link in my previous post. About the 4 minute mark it will show the control center and it's not In Command.

__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 54 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2021, 09:26 PM   #14
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
Your right I dont have the in command system I will try to attach a picture of what i have. I an calling a dealership tomorrow to get the heating unit fixed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20211226_230733.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	157.7 KB
ID:	37635   Click image for larger version

Name:	20211226_230806.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	124.2 KB
ID:	37636  
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 08:20 AM   #15
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 13,648
If you're handy at troubleshooting here is a link to the thermostat including the installation and owner's manuals (hopefully I will remember to attach it before I send this time) -

https://www.geapplianceparts.com/sto...s/spec/RARWT1B


Edit: You might note the only review on this unit on this site. Same thing you're experiencing sounds like. You might call GE and see if they will send you a new one on warranty and bypass the dealer, I did that with a Dometic.
__________________
Danny & Susan wife of 54 years
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 10:31 AM   #16
Dave Smith
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Sioux falls
Posts: 10
Thank you we have a mobile RV service coming out this afternoon. This info should be helpful.

The mobile repair service found the issue the thermostat was not connected and when connected only had backlight. He temp installed another thermostat until he could get the correct one. Most water issues fixed. The kitchen still has no water. Will hive that repaired when we visit the dealer next week.
Dave Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 12:13 PM   #17
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 15,397
Please post his findings/ repair. I havenít had to deal with the GE thermostat yet. GE started suppling ACís and thermostats to RVs a couple years ago if I remember right, just before I quit working at a Keystone dealer.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2021, 07:13 AM   #18
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 2,037
If you have the time I would DL both the Manual for the roof A/C unit and the thermostat... Looks like this thermostat uses a CANBUS line to communicate to the roof A/C and then down to the furnace via the two blue signal wires to furnace control board...

If the thermostat has NO display and wont turn on it gets its 12 volts DC from the roof A/C control module just like any other Dometic or Coleman unit with a digital thermostat...

With no power to thermostat nothing will work.. Easy to verify with a multimeter
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (205).jpg
Views:	22
Size:	199.3 KB
ID:	37671  
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.