Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Toy Haulers
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2022, 09:55 AM   #1
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
2016 Fuzion In Command issues

So we have a 2016 Fuzion 425 with In Command.

Recently it seems our system is losing connection randomly and shutting off anything we are using at the time.

Hasn't done it in the first 4 years we have owned it.

Spoke with ACA customer service and they said this is normal for this system. Anyone else having this issue?


For something normal it's strange to me that it hasn't happened since we bought it in 2018.

He mentioned having the system upgraded to one that has a wired DC screen. Anyone done this or got a price to upgrade?


Thanks
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:17 PM   #2
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 2,482
The wired version would mean a complete new BCM and display. Lots of $$$$
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:32 PM   #3
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
Yes ,I figured so just wondering if anyone has done it.


It's pretty frustrating that I would have to pay for that on a system that they readily admit is flawed.
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:32 PM   #4
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 4,297
Welcome to in-command. Before I spent money upgrading the system, I’d spend the money to eliminate it.
bsmith0404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:36 PM   #5
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
How would someone do that?

I
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:44 PM   #6
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 4,297
All of the wiring goes to the control board down in the pass through, you would need to determine what is what and run them to toggle switches on a control panel. Would be a bit of work, but if you could mount a “new” control panel for toggles switches on an interior wall, they’re hollow, just need to fish the wires up into the wall from the subfloor area.
bsmith0404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 02:50 PM   #7
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
I've studied the board and all the wiring is labeled so it wouldn't be overly difficult.

If I could get my hands on an updated system and install myself I would but they won't sell it me, has to go to a dealer.
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 03:09 PM   #8
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 4,297
The “upgraded” systems just have different problems. Several threads on here about people with problems with every version they’ve put out. Most with experience dealing with the system are not fans of them.
bsmith0404 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 03:15 PM   #9
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
That's sad to hear, we have really enjoyed the system and the phone app in our 4 years of owning our rig.

This is our first issue.
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2022, 09:24 PM   #10
P & T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Carson City
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajuncowboy654 View Post
That's sad to hear, we have really enjoyed the system and the phone app in our 4 years of owning our rig.

This is our first issue.
My brand new Raptor is shutting off frequently and I just set up the app today. The app has been solid whereas the touch screen has been spotty. I figured it might be a firmware/bug thing, but I've been looking at a bypass toggle setup just to skip the touch (still use the app) and have peace of mind. I wasn't thrilled to have a touch only feature but I can work around that, I hope. I'll be calling the warranty folks when I get back from my trip. Good luck!
__________________
2022 429 Raptor, 2020 199 Shadow Cruiser
Haul with: F450 6.7 CC FX4 Lariat
My hobbies: '69 Chevelle, '62 Impala, '65 C-10
NV is home but SD is where I'll be.
P & T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 04:21 AM   #11
cajuncowboy654
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Gheens
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by P & T View Post
My brand new Raptor is shutting off frequently and I just set up the app today. The app has been solid whereas the touch screen has been spotty. I figured it might be a firmware/bug thing, but I've been looking at a bypass toggle setup just to skip the touch (still use the app) and have peace of mind. I wasn't thrilled to have a touch only feature but I can work around that, I hope. I'll be calling the warranty folks when I get back from my trip. Good luck!


Mine is the first generation so the touchscreen uses Bluetooth to connect to the BCM, my phone connect to the touchscreen via Bluetooth.

The issue I have is the touchscreen loses connection with the BCM so anything turned on gets shut off when this happens.

I'm being told by their customer service is the only remedy is and expensive upgrade or deal with it.

I'm gonna look into possibly adding a few switches for some things.


Just think it's crazy that they would admit their system is an issue knowingly and expect us to have to pay for the fix. That should be their bullet to take.
cajuncowboy654 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 05:27 AM   #12
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 2,482
Even the latest In Command version “Global Connect” version NSCP3 and NSCP35 owners are having issues.
Issues seen are ..
1. HVAC temp for a zone reads -F degrees
2. Issues with the slide outs showing “Short..system disabled”
3. Loss of control to one or more HVAC zones
4. Travel lockout enabled ( when no truck is connected to 7 way plug
5. Loss of control of one or more interior lighting zones
6. Water heater issues with turning on

These are being reported by Alpine and Montana owners

One could either build their own manual panel with switches and labels and then find a way to drag each set of feed wires from the existing BCM connections OR..

There are several decent multi switch wireless switch panels available .. the wires could be removed from BCM and attached to the wireless relays and mount those switches onto a nice panel of sorts.

The remote wireless switches are pretty reliable and would be easier to handle then trying to draw every wire from the BCM back inside to a central location for a full switch panel

There of course would be more cost for the wireless switches but it is a thought to ponder over
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 06:07 AM   #13
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 10,485
"Just think it's crazy that they would admit their system is an issue knowingly and expect us to have to pay for the fix. That should be their bullet to take."

Do you honestly think it would be reasonable for them to pay for a device that's 7 yrs old and not purchased by the original owner? Seems like a stretch to me. If I owned a new or recent (under 3 yrs) I would be angered. That's just one of the reasons that I wouldn't buy a unit with that controller.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 06:43 AM   #14
JRTJH
Site Team
 
JRTJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Gaylord
Posts: 24,370
The Cougar line had similar issues with the capacitive touch (glass screen) control panels around 2011-2014. The bottom row of "switches" would stop working, leaving the RV with slides that would not operate, lights that would not function, etc.

On those that were "in warranty" (1 year Keystone warranty/2 years ASA component warranty) dealers would replace the "glass screen component". After that, for a "short period of time" (likely more related to how loud the owner screamed than to anything else) Keystone and ASA would replace the glass panel "as a gesture of good will".....

There are still trailers in service today with these glass screens, a system with a "known problem" and those owners are, for the most part, "on their own if they have a problem"....

That said, my trailer has "old fashioned switches to control everything".... Those switches also have a "known problem with failure" as well.

Point is, everything mechanical has an "eventual failure pending"....

Question is, at what point does the manufacturer no longer have a responsibility to provide repairs/recalls based "not on safety" but on "responsibility for their design" ????

I wouldn't expect you'll get much help from Keystone or the product manufacturer on a 7 year old product. Certainly no "better support" than the Cougar owners with glass screen faiures through the past 10 years....

Yes, "history does repeat itself".....
__________________
John



2015 F250 6.7l 4x4
2014 Cougar X Lite 27RKS
JRTJH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 11:24 AM   #15
Roper46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Georgia
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by P & T View Post
My brand new Raptor is shutting off frequently and I just set up the app today. The app has been solid whereas the touch screen has been spotty. I figured it might be a firmware/bug thing, but I've been looking at a bypass toggle setup just to skip the touch (still use the app) and have peace of mind. I wasn't thrilled to have a touch only feature but I can work around that, I hope. I'll be calling the warranty folks when I get back from my trip. Good luck!
Have you tried holding the power button on the display until the display restarts? Had to do this to mine a couple times.
__________________
Dan (USAF Retired Air Traffic Control)
2021 Cougar 290RLS w the Andersen Ultimate
2022 Ram 3500 SRW Big Horn Mega Cab
6.7L I6 CTD with Air Suspension
6 Speed Automatic 68RFE Transmission
Roper46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2022, 08:29 PM   #16
P & T
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: Carson City
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roper46 View Post
Have you tried holding the power button on the display until the display restarts? Had to do this to mine a couple times.
Yes, I hold the power for about 5 seconds and then the screen blacks out. Then I press it again for about 4-5 seconds and it boots up. But I've had to do multiple times in a short period of time. I could see needing to do it once in a while, maybe. It's just annoying. Oh well.
__________________
2022 429 Raptor, 2020 199 Shadow Cruiser
Haul with: F450 6.7 CC FX4 Lariat
My hobbies: '69 Chevelle, '62 Impala, '65 C-10
NV is home but SD is where I'll be.
P & T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2022, 01:57 AM   #17
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 2,482
The trouble with the early In Command systems that use BT is... All of the different items that are controlled via the BCM each have a circuit..

The NORMAL state of each of these circuits is (NO - normally open).. when the owner selects a function on the display.. such as LR lighting, water heater, water pump, etc the circuit is then completed (closed) and the lights, WH, etc function.

If the BT connection is lost then everything that was being used reverts back to the NO - normally open on the control circuits and things turn off..

Then they decided to hardwire using a CANBUS circuit.. and added in HVAC control...

Now the issue is further compounded with CANBUS, HVAC, etc... There isnt an owner out there with the newest Global connect system that isn't having quirky issues from time to time..

After nine years of use I have never had any of my panel mounted mechanical switches fail and turn off my lighting, WH, HVAC , etc..

While I do marvel and enjoy a lot of the new technology the ASA In Command, Lippert One Control, etc all have issues.. It seems that Lipperts One control system is less prone to issues

I do like what I see with Lipperts One control wiring and setup for the HVAC operation versus ASA jensen...

https://lci-support-doc.s3.amazonaws...cd-0001450.pdf

Also you can buy replacement parts for the system from Lippert... Such as a new display panel, etc.. But the parts are also expensive... $750 for a new 7 inch touch display
__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2022, 04:41 AM   #18
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 10,485
Every computer/electrical component is outrageously priced. Our one nephew got angry and broke the screen the dashboard of his Hyundai a couple years back. The radio, or "infotainment center" has the back up camera, the hvac controls etc in the touch screen. That little outburst cost him a couple of grand.
__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 12:54 PM   #19
GeekSquadOfUn
Senior Member
 
GeekSquadOfUn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Whitby
Posts: 236
I've had iN-Command for close to 4 years now on our 2019 Cougar 5th wheel and it's worked flawlessly. Never any issues.

Have you updated to the most recent version ?

https://in-command.net/control-systems/

Pick the correct version you have and you'll see the latest updates.

Good luck.
__________________
****
2019 Cougar 315RLS
2011 Ford F250
May you live as long as you want, and never want as long as you live.
GeekSquadOfUn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 01:11 PM   #20
wrvond
Senior Member
 
wrvond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Leon, WV
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeekSquadOfUn View Post
I've had iN-Command for close to 4 years now on our 2019 Cougar 5th wheel and it's worked flawlessly. Never any issues.

Have you updated to the most recent version ?

https://in-command.net/control-systems/

Pick the correct version you have and you'll see the latest updates.

Good luck.
I haven't had any issues with ours either. It's only been four months though. I did update to the latest MC version about a week ago and immediately noticed a difference. The entire system seems to be much faster than it was previously.
__________________
2022 Cougar Half Ton 24RDS
2017 F350 DRW 6.7L


wrvond is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuzion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.