Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > General RV Issues
Click Here to Login

Old 08-10-2017, 04:24 PM   #1
97winger

Power flush black tank

We are out on our first trip with a 2016 Fusion 325. First I got black water down at the cap even though the handle is in the closed position, not a fun first impressions. And the in•com and system show the black tank is full after dumping, which the previous owner told me about. What I'm trying to do is flush the tank. What do I do with the "TANK FILL POWER FRESH SWITCH " I put in the down position and it sounds like it's doing something but nothing in coming out of the black tank.I hooked a hose to the flush system with no result. Being a newbie I have a lot to learn but dealing with the black tank I hate to learn the hard way.
97winger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 05:19 AM   #2
NorskeBob

1. Purchase a cap with a hose connection and replace the one that came with the RV.
2. Put a bucket or your drain hose under the cap and remove it - if something comes out you may have a leaky black tank valve
3. I attach a clear piece to my tank outlet - this way I can see how well I am dumping the tanks and flushing the black tank. With the clear piece attached you should be able to tell of the black flush connection is working. I can usually hear water entering the tank.
4. I purchased an external valve in case I have one that sticks open.
5. The tank indicating full after dumping - the level probes could be covered with "stuff". Try using the following to clean the tanks:
Calgon Water Softener - This stuff helps to break down water surface tension, clean scum and prevent hard mineral deposits. Borax can be used when you can’t find Calgon and find it works just as well.