Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 02-28-2021, 04:52 PM   #1
SR71 Jet Mech

New TV break in

So I I’m seeing with the new pickups there is a 500 mile break in and then another 500 mile at no more than 50 mph with a fiver hooked up.

Looks like Ford has a 1600 mile break in period.

I hear (or read) that the ECM logs if the 7 way is connected. Not sure how anyone would know if “towing” was actually done? However losing warranty due to improper break break may be an issue??

I was able to negotiate a 7 year 72k factory warranty into the purchase of the new Ram and would hate to lose it.

I know back in the day (when I was an auto tech) there were all types of opinions on engine break in procedures. Also being in the sprint car and some drag racing, our break in was only to pour in hot water, start and run long enough to set timing and warm engine...then beat it.

As an engine builder I have done this religiously and then drive the vehicle lik it will be driven from day one. Never had an issue and always warranted MY work for years.

Now it seems this warranty is more for the drive train and do plan on putting at least 500 miles on it before towing. Hopefully more but I’m wondering what others have done? Any warranty issues? Etc.

The weather is still not conducive for camping however it will be soon. I’m not looking to circumvent the process of break in but am curious as to others “break in” process on their new TV’s.

Thanks, Scott

SR71 Jet Mech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 06:01 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team