Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 01-29-2014, 07:40 AM   #1
gruehle

Unhappy Chucking with Cougar 327 RES High Country

Just towed our new 2014 327 RES (High Country pkg.) with my 2008 F-350 Dually. This is my first time to tow a fifth wheel. We installed the B&W companion hitch as I bought the truck used and the prior owner already had a B&W ball hitch for their goose neck. The dealer said this would give us the smoothest ride with the least amount of chucking. I had also bought the truck used, which is in great shape but not sure if the shocks were ever replaced. It has 132k miles in it and does have some bounce on rough roads or bumpy highways. That was extremely exaggerated when I hooked up the fifth wheel. On smooth pavement, everything is really great but on the parts of the highway where it has those waves of uneven pavement, the chucking is terrible.

Is this an issue with the shocks on my truck or is this something I have to live with when pulling a fifth wheel. I've also heard all types of options with putting air shocks on my truck. Everyone I've talked to that has a fifth wheel tells me, it's the best thing since sliced bread compared to bumper or receiver pull trailers, but this chucking issue is not fun. I think the hitch weight of the trailer is 1545lbs. We are going to add the washer dryer combo which goes in the front so that will add a little more weight up there.

Looking forward to some great advice. Thanks :-)
gruehle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 09:17 AM   #2
Festus2
Site Team

gruehl -