Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Full-timers & Snowbirds
Click Here to Login

Old 12-20-2013, 09:00 AM   #1
Icemo303

Cold weather refrigerator ops

Hi all. I'm living full time in my Fuzion 342 in Casper, WY. Winter is here and not only am I new to living in the rig full time, I'm also new to the true cold of winter as I transplanted from central CA. A cold snap of -19 F came through recently and I think that is the cause of my fridge and freezer not functioning as it was working fine before and quit after that. The lights on the front panel still work just like they did all summer indicating power source etc. but there is no cooling in the unit. I thought it might start working again as temps recently were above freezing for a few days but it didn't. Any thoughts?
Icemo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 09:02 PM   #2
hankaye

Icemo303, Howdy;

First Welcome to the forum

Have you checked the switch for the condensation control. Usually in the top
of the freezer door. Something you may have turned ON while in Ca. but
far from necessary in your present circumstances. Just a thought...
I used to live in Central Utah in a valley that was kooooold! Don't think I ever
lost the use of either fridge or freezer so I'm just taking a stab at it.

hankaye

Home: 2008 Cougar 278 RKS
T.V.: 2004 F-250 4X4, Level III BulletProofed , Detroit Tru-Track Differential (915A550)
Dog: 2006 Border Collie (Rascal) aka Maximum fur dispersal unit. (08/04/2006 - 12/16/2017) RIP.
hankaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 11:31 PM   #3
Icemo303

I checked for the switch but it is either microscopic or nonexistent. I have a dometic unit with either gas or A/C power supply.
Thanks for the quick response. Any other ideas?
Icemo303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 06:15 AM   #4
jsmith948