Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 09-19-2022, 11:14 AM   #1
Momwifecop

Another clueless newbie

After scouring the towing questions and trying to plug my numbers into the equations, I'm STILL unable to figure this out! Admittedly, math is not my forte, and this is my first time towing anything. This is the info I have:

2019 FORD F150 3.5 ECOBOOST:
Not to exceed 1714 lbs on the yellow/white sticker
10,600 tow capacity

KEYSTONE PASSPORT:
GVWR 7700 lbs

Hitch: 750 lbs

Can someone please help me make sense of this? Can this F150 pull this trailer?

Thank you!
Momwifecop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2022, 11:26 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum

First off congrats on the pending retirement, if I decifer your username your in Law enforcement? I retired in 2008, before it got as dangerous as it is now. Thank you for your service!!!

Now to your question. The tag in the drivers door says the maximum amount of people and cargo your truck is rated for is 1714 pounds. That means everyone and everything “in” the truck should not exceed that weight. The weight on the hitch is “in” the truck since the hitch is attached to the frame.

Figure out how much you, anybody else and all the cargo weighs and subtract that from the 1714 figure. That will tell you how much tongue weight you can legally add.

I say legally, because lots of people add things like airbags, thinking it increases capacity. The tag is the legal limit unless a certified shop makes alterations and issues a new federal tag.

It’s normal to use a percentage of the trailer GVWR to calculate the tongue weight, and choice of hitch will affect that number.

Others will chime in, hope your head isn’t spinning

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.