Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Community Forums > Odds 'n Ends
Click Here to Login

Old 05-09-2012, 04:55 AM   #1
dave-g

Smile Backing In Using Cell Phones

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruffus View Post
Hi Charger
I've been pulling fifthwheels since 1990 and one thing I'll tell you is that they will follow you anywhere, LOL. Be safe and if you married get a set of walkie Talkies and listen to the DW while backing, that way if you hit something you'll have someone else to blame for it.
I use my cell phone on speaker. This works great because it is hands free.
KTM 300 xc-sold
ktm 450 exc-r
dave-g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 07:31 AM   #2
Outbackmel

Dave-g reply

Ditto....cell phones work great. Wife has hers as normal, mine in cab on speaker. People have commented on how effortlessly we navigate in / out / around tight spots without "yelling". We LIE and just smile and say "experience".
Outbackmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 10:46 AM   #3
f6bits

Doesn’t the split-second delay throw you off? We use hand signals. No finger signals, thankfully.

2011 Passport 2590BH
2009 Ford F150 SuperCrew FX4 5.4L w/Max Tow
f6bits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2012, 05:53 PM   #4
Outbackmel

Hand signals vs cell phone

No delay...BUT...as a back up we also learned the hand signal approach. The ISSUE with hand signals for me is DW seems to dislike her image in my mirror and WANDERS
Old 05-09-2012, 07:26 PM   #5
ktmracer

cell phones are handy for backing up IF you have cell phone reception. We do maybe 50% of the time, till the cell phone booster amp is plugged in.

So we carry a pair of the motorola talkabout portable radios. use those most of the time.

and the sites that are the toughest to get into are inevitably the ones w/o cell service!! as one might expect.

2004 Silverado CC/SB/ 4x4 Duramax