Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 03-16-2011, 08:10 AM   #1
cmsutton

Outback 27RSDS towed with Silverado 1/2 ton?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and just can't seem to find the answer to my question no matter how much Googling I do! So I'm hoping someone could help me as best as possible...

We would like to purchase a 2006 Keystone Outback 27RSDS. We have a 2005 Silverado 1/2 ton which has a tow capacity of 7600 lbs, and 13,000 lbs combined weight. The RV weights (dry, shipping, hitch, etc.) just plain confuse me. I don't know if the shipping weight includes the hitch weight, if shipping weight is the same as dry weight, etc. We're a family of 4, my husband, myself, a 9-month-old and a dog, weighing in total about 425 lbs. I don't think we'd be bringing a lot of stuff (famous last words, probably).

Will this be a safe travel trailer for us to tow?

Thanks very much!

BTW, TT weights are:

Shipping Weight: 5860
Carrying Capacity: 1710
Hitch: 570
cmsutton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 08:36 AM   #2
Flyguy

Here's the specs on that trailer:

2006 27RSDS Specifications
Shipping Weight 5860
Carrying Capacity 1710
Hitch 570
Length 29' 7
Width 8'
Height 10' 1
Fresh Water 50
Waste Water 40
Gray Water 40