Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 04-08-2013, 08:04 AM   #1
Effing Bored

Question Locating Coaxial Splitter in 2012 Keystone Outback

As a cable technician, I am serious about getting all the signal I can get to my cable box. After running a signal check before the cable input jack on the outside of the RV, I was at a +4 in dB of signal. At my cable outlet, I was at a -12. That's a -16dB loss.

A few dB of loss is expected, but in this size of camper, no more than 5dB max should be lost.

The type and size (2-way, 3-way, 4-way...etc) splitter usually is the result of such signal loss.

Where can I locate the splitter in this RV to see if that's the issue?

Thanks in advance.
Old 04-08-2013, 08:10 AM   #2
SteveC7010

Quote:
Originally Posted by Effing Bored View Post
As a cable technician, I am serious about getting all the signal I can get to my cable box. After running a signal check before the cable input jack on the outside of the RV, I was at a +4 in dB of signal. At my cable outlet, I was at a -12. That's a -16dB loss.

A few dB of loss is expected, but in this size of camper, no more than 5dB max should be lost.

The type and size (2-way, 3-way, 4-way...etc) splitter usually is the result of such signal loss.

Where can I locate the splitter in this RV to see if that's the issue?

Thanks in advance.
It's pretty common to locate the splitter(s) right near one of the access locations. It may be behind or part of the Winegard master where the amp switch is located. That's the primary distribution point for antenna signal and usually the cable piggybacks on that. The Winegard units have been commonly located in the master bedroom areas.

Satellite prep is separate wiring I believe.

'11 Cougar 326MKS loaded with mods
'12 Ford F250 SuperCab 6.7 PowerStroke Diesel