Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 03-31-2016, 06:10 PM   #1
pakuma

110v outlets dead

I have a 2013 279RKSWE Cougar. The 3 outlets in the front of the trailer are dead. The GFI is not tripped. I have removed the three dead outlets and I have continuity on the neutral. The power side does not have any continuity to anything. When I remove the GFI in the Bathroom there is a Black and White wire being fed by the outlet. They have continuity to nothing. I have spoken to my Dealer and he is as baffled as I am. I have tried calling Keystone and end up speaking with operators who have no idea, except to tell me to go to the Dealer. I was a Certified Dodge Motor Home Tech, I am an ASE certified General so i have some knowledge of what I am doing. The problem is no one seems to know where that circuit goes. Any ideas will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
pakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 06:13 PM   #2
GaryWT

Wiring aside, is the GFI good? If it has gone bad then nothing will work, tripped or not. Also have you checked your fuses and breakers, could be a bad breaker.
GaryWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2016, 06:28 PM   #3
dcg9381

Lacking diagrams (pretty much all 5th wheels):
You've got continuity on neutral. I assume you mean all the way back to the breaker. You didn't mention ground, but I'd expect the same thing.

So the hot is lacking continuity and you can't seem to find the "next" part of the circuit.

I don't have an answer. I would point you to a line toner - that's what I'd use in a problem like this. In an RV, you'll likely be able to trace wire runs likely through the walls, which will make things easier.

They're typically used for network/telco, but I use them for 12v and 110V power...