Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2022, 11:12 AM   #1
R7ISH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Bessemer
Posts: 5
Furnace not staying on...

We have a Keystone Cougar 316RLS and cannot keep the furnace operating. It kicks on with heat for 1-2 minutes then turns off. 10-15 minutes later it does the same thing - over and over again... Any advice???
R7ISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 11:48 AM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 17,890
Could be a couple of different things. Brand/model of furnace?

InCommand or thermostat?
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 12:06 PM   #3
dutchmensport
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,795
What year is your camper, how old is it. Is it new or previously owned. If it's an older camper (not brand spankin' new), it's probably a dirty or failed Sail Switch in your furnace. They are very easy to remove, blow the lint and gunk off of them and put them back in. Check You Tube... search on RV Furnace Sail Switch maintenance and you'll get all kinds of videos how to do this... It's very, very easy and a no cost first thing to check before moving to something more complicated and/or costly.
__________________
2019 Montana High Country 375FL
2014 Chevy Duramax HD 6.6 - 3500 Diesel Dully Long bed Crew Cab
dutchmensport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 12:16 PM   #4
R7ISH
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2022
Location: Bessemer
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Could be a couple of different things. Brand/model of furnace?

InCommand or thermostat?
Dometic DFMD35131
IN·COMMAND

Looking at it further outside it runs for <2 minutes when it finally kicked off and a buzzer sounds with a red light blinking on the circuit board.

Called dealership and they suggested a dirt dobber. No sign of anything there.
R7ISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 12:22 PM   #5
jasin1
Senior Member
 
jasin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Upper Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 4,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by R7ISH View Post
2022 Keystone Cougar 316RLS.
BRAND NEW

Dometic DFMD35131
IN·COMMAND

Looking at it further outside it runs for <2 minutes when it finally kicked off and a buzzer sounds with a red light blinking on the circuit board.

Called dealership and they suggested a dirt dobber. No sign of anything there.
the red light is probably flashing a sequence for what the actual problem is…look for a pattern…ex two long flashes by 3 quick ones or just 5 flashes in a row with a pause and then repeat..usually there would be a sticker or schematic with notes somewhere to let you know what that pattern means..maybe in the owners manual also

edit. probably wishful thinking ..doesn’t look like much online documentation dometic fault codes…not like residential systems
__________________
2020 Cougar 315 RLS
2020 Ram 3500 6.7HO 4.10 Dually Aisin
jasin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 02:12 PM   #6
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 17,890
Odds are you won’t see any signs of mud dawbers as they built their nest as deep as they can, and you won’t see them without taking the furnace apart.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 02:40 PM   #7
sourdough
Site Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: W. Texas
Posts: 15,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by R7ISH View Post
Dometic DFMD35131
IN·COMMAND

Looking at it further outside it runs for <2 minutes when it finally kicked off and a buzzer sounds with a red light blinking on the circuit board.

Called dealership and they suggested a dirt dobber. No sign of anything there.

Here are a couple of links you can look at;

https://www.dometic.com/assets/14/53...1_01_81453.pdf

https://www.camperupgrade.com/atwood...e-fault-codes/

IIRC when my Atwood did that same thing I had to replace the control board.
__________________
2019 Ram 3500 Laramie CC SB 6.4 4x4 4.10
2020 Montana High Country 331RL
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2022, 05:31 PM   #8
bsmith0404
Senior Member
 
bsmith0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Las Cruces
Posts: 4,666
I doubt it’s the sail switch, if that was bad, it typically will not light at all. Mine did the exact same thing as yours a couple years ago, I had to replace the control board as well. If you have a dealership or RV repair facility near by, there’s a chance they have a tester for the control board, you can call to verify. You can pull the board and take it to them for testing. The dealership near me does it free of charge and stocks most of the common/comparable boards. Cost me $80 for the replacement board and about 3 hours of my time to remove, take it to get tested, and install the new one.

As for the mud dauber a, if you pull the exhaust port on the exterior, you should be able to get in deep enough to verify. You’ll have to pull that to remove the furnace to get the control board anyway. Typically only 6 screws on the outside and you can pull it.
bsmith0404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2022, 06:40 AM   #9
ChuckS
Senior Member
 
ChuckS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Mountain Home, Idaho
Posts: 2,611
Two items to check before anything else since the furnace is firing off and running for a brief period.

1. locate furnace and on the top will be a black rocker switch... cycle this switch off and on a few times making sure to leave it ON when done
2. Atwood furnaces love to use a BLACK colored ATC resettable fuse located inside your power center panel.. if you have this fuse remove it and tempo install a standard 15 amp ATC fuse in its place

Now run the furnace and observe operation..

If the furnace still shuts down and you are hearing that buzzing sound ( most likely its from the furnace control board delay relay then you are gonna need to pull the furnace

I would check each connection on furnace control board to make sure they are tight and secured.

images to help you perhaps....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (299).png
Views:	6
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	41887   Click image for larger version

Name:	93B0FA19-30C9-4A30-B738-136014B283F7.jpeg
Views:	8
Size:	107.6 KB
ID:	41888   Click image for larger version

Name:	D2DB8024-0F2E-4250-AE06-FCDD5696240F.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	169.6 KB
ID:	41889   Click image for larger version

Name:	34523343-220E-41EF-ABD8-2A4A9FD96FBA.jpeg
Views:	15
Size:	253.8 KB
ID:	41890   Click image for larger version

Name:	EF90DD5C-40CB-4908-8F6A-E95605696E64.jpeg
Views:	12
Size:	274.1 KB
ID:	41891  

__________________


2007 GMC Classic club cab 4x4 Duramax LBZ
2014 Alpine 3010 RE. 34 foot fifth wheel
ChuckS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2022, 09:31 AM   #10
Augie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Calgary
Posts: 14
Same problem

I had the same thing happen earlier this year. Couldn't figure it out but a mobile tech who came by said he sees it fairly often on Montana's like ours (3120RL). In our case it was the burner orifice that was misaligned. He took less than ten minutes start to finish and the furnace has run flawlessly ever since.
Augie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2022, 02:56 PM   #11
jim1
Senior Member
 
jim1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Coaldale (Southern Alberta)
Posts: 171
Hi R7ISH, My very uneducated guess is if the furnace stops working normally between midnight and morning on a cold cold night. It's probably the sail switch. And pulling it out with flash light in your hand is really not that hard when your a$$ is frozen cold and your fingers really hurt, but I did it. Not fun, cleaned it up put it back together tried to cross my frozen fingers. Turned it on and BIG JOY it worked and has been pretty good since. KNOCK KNOCK on my wooden head. Hope this helps and I did find the 2 screws I lost the next morning, with my glasses on. Good Luck!!
__________________
& Jim & Tovi
2019 Cougar 315RLS w/ Reese Sidewinder pin box
2011 Ram Larime CC 3500 SB 4x4 w/ Reese 5th wheel hitch
Retired-Lovin' 7 Saturdays a week!!
jim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RV® is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.