Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 05-14-2015, 01:03 PM   #1
sandy43

Another Bearing Question, thanks

I've been reading all the post pertaining to wheel bearing. Some good info. It's apparent that most know their stuff.

I called Dexter this morning and talked to a "Connie". She said if the bearing look good and no wear, just grease them and replace them, no need to buy new bearings. I mentioned changing them out to Timkens bearing, because their USA produced. She said Timkens are now produced in China. Whatever, it is what it is.

My question to all is: when you take the rear bearing out to grease it, does the rear seal need to be changed. I'm new to this procedure, so be patient and all the help you can give is well appreciated. Many Thanks

sandy43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 01:18 PM   #2
JRTJH
Site Team

To answer your question about replacing vs reusing the seals. Any time you pull the rear bearing, you have to remove the seal to get the bearing out of the hub. That means you run the risk of deforming the seal. When reinstalled, there's a good chance it won't "seal" properly against the axle shaft. So, you run the risk of installing a "damaged part" when for the cost of a new seal (about $4) you can prevent that possibility.

I've heard many times, 'NEVER EVER REUSE SEALS". Even "way back when" on my first car, a 1950 Chevy Turtleback, my Dad raised all kinds of cane when I suggested saving a buck and reusing the seals.

When you think about it, less than $20 for new seals to protect $100+ in brake shoes. Seems like good insurance to me. There's one member here who makes his living as an auto mechanic. He has said in the past that anyone in his shop that reused a seal would find himself outside without a job.

2015 F250 6.7l 4x4