Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 02-22-2015, 04:01 PM   #1
BlueThunder34

Dealer Supplied WDH is it enough???

We purchased a 2015 Springdale 240BHWE that has an empty weight of 5,660 carrying capacity of 2,030 and a dry hitch weight of 690lbs. The WDH that they fitted my truck (2014 RAM 1500) with is the E2 WDH with max. 8,000lbs weight and 800lbs. max tounge weight. Is this WDH enough for this trailer without being at risk of failure? Seems that empty tounge weight of 690 is going to climb pretty quickly once propane, batteries, water, cargo is added. I'm new to this so not sure if I'm being overly cautious or if they should have included a heavier duty WDH?
BlueThunder34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 05:04 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Empty weight of 5660 and cargo capacity of 2030 equals 7690.

With a GVWR of 7690, that means the most your trailer can weigh is still under the max of the WDH, and the hitch should be 770 at most.
At our dealership, that close would have warranted a 1000/10000 WDH. You should be fine, but I would ask nicely and see what they say.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 05:44 PM   #3
wahoonc

I would say that the hitch will do the job, but it is close to the limits.