Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 04-19-2020, 05:41 PM   #1
adrosenberg

How to use Gray and Black tanks!?

hey all, I'm new to trailer living and have a few questions about using my gray and black tanks appropriately. so to begin im hooked up to plumbing in to the ground. does that mean I can leave my grey tank valve open always? also, should I leave black tank open always or try and let it fill with water so everything exits easier when I do finally open the valve?
adrosenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2020, 05:49 PM   #2
chuckster57
Site Team

Welcome to the forum!!
All waste tanks should stay closed until they need to be dumped. There will be some that say the tank sensors are useless, but with proper care they can work as designed for the life of the trailer.

Black tank: lots of water will keep things moving, and a TP that dissolves is mandatory. Odor control comes in many forms so find the one best for you including the “geo method”.

Gray tanks. If you rinse a lot of greasy stuff and food, the sensors can start indicating wrong. HOT water and Dawn a Ultra Blue have been my fix for years.

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2020, 05:57 PM   #3
LewisB

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrosenberg View Post