Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 10-19-2013, 04:02 PM   #1
Bob Landry

Strange Electrical Problem

I've been doing Marine electrical work for around 15 years and RV shore power being relatively the same, I feel pretty confident working with electrical stuff, but today I had a stumper.

On the way to storage to do a trailer project today, my low tire pressure alert on my truck came on. No problem since I carry an air compressor in the back storage box. So I try to start up the compressor and it starts very slowly and never picks up enough speed to do anything. It finally stops running and after a few seconds, it goes through the same cycle again and again. It really sounded like a motor tryin to start on low voltage. The outlet I run it on is one i tied into one of the rear wall outlets. Those outlets are fed by the breaker marked microwave. Then I tried the compressor on the outdoor outlet and that one is fed by the GFIC breaker. Same symptom as before. Then I carried the compressor over to the outlet that I plug the trailer into and the compressor ran fine. So that makes me think there is something happening in the trailer. The only argument to that is that I'm in a different space since I ran the compressor last time, and all went well. Also today, The display on the microwave was lit and I ran an electric drill off of a couple of different outlets with no problems.
As far as the power in the trailer, I run a Progressive Industries 30A EMS. I had overhead lights on and with no other draw, the EMS read 112VAC, which is a little but low, but not alarming, and was drawing 4A, nothing unusual there.