Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 05-03-2015, 08:38 AM   #1
Bossman

2015 Denali towing Terrain 230TRS

Newbie here making decision on a trailer. Although we are completely new to RVing, I'm trying to avoid the newbie errors of towing too much with an SUV. I've read a great deal on this site and others about mfg stated limits, capacities, and also on issues relating to wheelbase vs. trailer length. We are a family of four, with the kids at ages 3 and 5. I'm a cautious person and I'm not interested in pushing the limits. I know the standard answer is "buy a pickup", but I'd like to avoid doing so. Please read the entire info the follows before forming an opinion.

We'd like a comfortable trailer that we can use for camping with the kids, state and natl park visits, college football tailgates, and hunting and fishing. Have our eye an a 2015 Outback Terrain because it's a very versatile trailer with the multipurpose front room: bunk beds, bicycle or hunting gear storage, can be converted to a TV room for the kids, or a card game room for the adults on a rainy night at fishing camp. No plans to use RV toy hauler for ATV or any other heavy equipment.

Trailer specs are as follows:

Shipping Weight 5075
Carrying Capacity 2425
Hitch 555
Length 27' 0"
We'd plan on adding 1000 to 1200 lbs of gear for a fully loaded trailer.

Also about to order a 2015 Yukon Denali with the 116" wheelbase and trailering package. Specs are:

Horsepower @ RPM 420 @ 5600
Torque @ RPM 460 @ 4100
Curb Weight (lbs.) 5746.00 lbs
Max Payload (lbs.) 1554.00 lbs
GVWR (lbs.) 7300.00 lbs
Max Conventional Trailering (lbs.) 8500 lbs

Our numbers put us at about 6100 lbs with the trailer full, 650 lbs on the hitch with a properly loaded trailer, 400 lbs total for family of four, and maybe another 100 lbs of payload in TV.