Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Fifth Wheels
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2020, 03:07 PM   #1
TXCamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Midland
Posts: 7
Hooking Up Modem For Wi-Fi

Hello all,

Last time I was on this forum, I was full-timing in West TX with my Cougar Half-Ton. Now I'm living near Phoenix, Arizona! The park I'm staying in is much nicer than the one I had left, but it is certainly lacking in internet capability. This wasn't too much of an issue, but now that the Coronavirus is spreading, my company has told all of us to work from home until the next week and maybe even longer. My Wi-Fi here is terrible and I can't just sit around for two weeks doing nothing.

I've talked to Cox Communications and they provide a DIY kit that comes free with their high speed internet. My question is...How do I set it up and am I even able to set it up? It says that the coax cable needs to be plugged into the wall, but where is that located exactly? Is it the one on the ceiling in the bedroom? I'm just trying to do my due diligence before I order this thing and then can't even use it! Has anyone ever subscribed to a internet provider and set up the modem/router?

Thanks!
__________________

TXCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 03:20 PM   #2
flybouy
Site Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Joppa, MD
Posts: 2,941
It would help if you shared with us the year and model of your camper.
__________________

__________________
Marshall
2012 Laredo 303 TG
2010 F250 LT Super Cab, long bed, 4X4, 6.4 Turbo Diesel
flybouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 03:22 PM   #3
TXCamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Midland
Posts: 7
I was looking to see how to update my signature on here, I will do that quickly.
I'm in a 2018 Cougar Half-Ton 27RLS
TXCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 03:30 PM   #4
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 10,714
Iím wondering if there is even a feed in the park. Does your unit have KeyTV?
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 03:39 PM   #5
TXCamper
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Midland
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckster57 View Post
Iím wondering if there is even a feed in the park. Does your unit have KeyTV?
My unit does not have KeyTV, just the coax hookup that feeds into the camper from the outside, a coax hookup behind my telescopic living room TV and the powered coax hookup in the ceiling of my bedroom.

There also seems to already be a Cox Communications cable box hooked up near the post outside. I'm sorry if I'm not being that helpful, I'm a real rookie at this stuff.
__________________
Garrett
TX
2018 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 27RLS 5th Wheel
TXCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 03:48 PM   #6
chuckster57
Site Team
 
chuckster57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Modesto
Posts: 10,714
Your ok, and doing good. If there is a Cox communication box then you might be good to go. I would use the SAT in port and then hook up the modem to the SAT out at either location.
__________________

2012 Copper Canyon 273FWRET being towed by a 1994 Ford F350 CC,LB,Dually diesel.
Airlift 5000 bags, Prodigy brake control, 5 gauges on the pillar.Used to tow a '97 Jayco 323RKS.

Now an RVIA registered tech. Retired from Law enforcement in 2008 after 25+ yrs.
chuckster57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2020, 04:10 PM   #7
Camp CA
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Benicia, California
Posts: 72
Suggest getting your own router. We have a Verizon router plus a hot spot on our cell phones to access wifi.
Camp CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2020, 03:03 AM   #8
Jreeves54
Junior Member
 
Jreeves54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Mechanicsburg
Posts: 4
First thought, "just plug coax into wall" might mean they assume you have internet from a cable company. If you do not, how would you received high speed broadband? ComCast uses cable for TV and Internet connection. Verizon uses optics from the phone line and coax from a box they install, but the coax mainly pertains to being about to update the Cable Programing on the TV, and the Internet connection is by ethernet cable.
__________________

Jreeves54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Keystone RV Company or any of its affiliates in any way. Keystone RVģ is a registered trademark of the Keystone RV Company.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×