Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Repairs & Maintenance
Click Here to Login

Old 04-23-2014, 06:13 AM   #1
{tpc}

Newbie here, questions about dewinterizing and sanitizing for the first time.

I assume the black cap has to be reinstalled and that is the low point drain for the fresh water tank. Do you just put it back on, or use thread tape on it? What are the red and blue capped lines for?

The red and blue lines that stick out from the coroplast are the low point drains (red=hot, blue=cold). The 3rd one is most likely the drain for the FW tank. No need to use thread tape.

Thats about as far as I got. I was thinking it would be ok to fill the fresh water tank from the hose from our house, for the flushing purposes, and for the sanitizing purposes (and frankly just to make sure everything is in good working order), and then running it through and dumping it right on the driveway. Since its brand new, would that be ok?

I'd run city water through the lines flushing them out, leaving the low point drains open while you do this. Don't forget to open the HW tank bypass to allow water to run into your HW tank. You can leave this drain open while you are flushing the lines. Water will pour out of the HW tank while you do this but that is ok. After the lines have been flushed, you can fill the FW tank with water and add 1/2 cup of bleach and let it sit in the tank overnight. Don't forget to close off the low point drains, FW tank drain and the HW tank bypass when you do this. In the morning, open the low point drains and the FW tank drain and let the water/bleach mix drain out. You should refill the tank and flush it out again. This flushing should be repeated until the bleach taste disappears.