Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Technical Corner
Click Here to Login

Old 06-05-2019, 09:04 PM   #1
ptooti

Lightbulb Battery Boondocking Question

Wondering if anyone can give me some info I'm taking my camper to a 6 day festival and there is no Electrical hookups however water and sewer is provided via a suck and fill truck to keep the campers happy...anyway my question is I plan on running the hotwater and fridge on gas, I have a 100w solar panel I want to know if I would be able to use the led lights sparingly, charge my phone, and run the water pump occasionally to flush and a shower for 6 days and still have power enough to pull in the slide in at the end of it all? I have never used the solar panel before wondering if I should add another battery?

Also can someone tell me if the battery was dead and I hooked up the trailer wiring to the truck would that give me power to pull in the slide worst case should the battery be flat? I'm just not sure how it all works
Thanks

Current : 2018 Passport Elite 19RB
Past 2015 R-Pod 179
6,000 Equalizer WDH
2009 F150 Lariat 5.4l
ptooti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 09:29 PM   #2
Fishsizzle

Couple things.... what is your current battery And or batteries?

Need to know “amp hours” on them
2020 F350 Crew DRW 6.7, 4x4, 10 sod auto, 4:10 gears
Fishsizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 04:00 AM   #3
MarkEHansen

Make sure you don't tow with a dead coach battery. The battery is required to provide emergency braking in the event of trailer separation from the tow vehicle.
Old 06-06-2019, 04:25 AM   #4
spade117

Charging your phone will not work in the camper when only using the battery as a power source. The outlets do not work off the battery.
Old 06-06-2019, 04:36 AM   #5
MarkEHansen

I can charge my phone using a 12v charger - FYI