Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Fleet | Keystone RV Models > Travel Trailers
Click Here to Login

Old 04-16-2014, 03:02 AM   #1
rode2nowhere

releasing trailer off ball?

I am not a professional camper but not a newbie, is there any tips to unhitching the trailer from the ball? last trip it took a while. I raise the trailer and flip the latch and move truck back and forth and still takes a while, and ball is greased well, any help appreciated?
rode2nowhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:14 AM   #2
zuley

I had the same issue last spring with our new TT. Received a responce from this forum telling me after put the blocks under the tires to pull ahead slightly with the tow vehicle allowing the ball that extra 1/4 inch or so away from the locking cam of the receiver. Worked for me.
zuley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 03:30 AM   #3
Javi

Quote:
Originally Posted by rode2nowhere View Post
I am not a professional camper but not a newbie, is there any tips to unhitching the trailer from the ball? last trip it took a while. I raise the trailer and flip the latch and move truck back and forth and still takes a while, and ball is greased well, any help appreciated?
1. block trailer tires
2. pull or let TV roll forward slightly to take pressure off hitch.
3. flip latch
4. raise trailer
Javi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 04:54 AM   #4
Ram189

Dumb question but can you not release the safety on the trailer or can you not get the ball to drop out of the trailer??
Towards the end of my TT usage I had to sometimes jump on the hitch to make it disengage the ball from the hitch.

https://i220.photobucket.com/albums/d...ps110a0f22.jpg
Ram189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:08 AM   #5
AlbertaRvMan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Javi View Post
1. block trailer tires