Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 03-24-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
lspajm

Question about Towing 2011 passport 3220BH with 2008 F150 XLT 5.4 Ltr

I have a question about towing my new 2011 passport 3220BH with my 2008 F150 XLT 5.4 Ltr. The F150 owners manual doesn't say much - what do folks know about turing the overdrive OFF when towing? Is it a benfit for in-town vs. highway towing? What about turing it off when towing up steep hills?

Any guidence would be appreciated....I am new to towing this unit and just also bought this truck and don't want to mess anything up.

Thanks so much - I have read many other posts about stuff and have learned alot on this forum - so thanks to all the folks that reply and give their "seasoned" advice!
lspajm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 06:34 AM   #2
chris199

u have tow pkg?

u have tow pkg with the truck? do you have a tow/haul feature?

I have a Tundra...not a Ford....but I don't think you want overdrive kicking in while towing.
chris199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:38 AM   #3
therink

I checked the specs on Keystone website. What you need to be concerned with is GVWR (loaded) weight of the trailer and loaded tongue weight (likely around 750 lbs). Next, look up the ratings of your f150 based on body style (crew, ext cab, bed length) and axle ratio. Take what is listed as the GVWR for your truck, then subtract trailer tongue out weight, hitch weight, then the difference is what you have left for passengers, fuel, bikes, firewood, gear etc in the truck. Hopefully, you have a 3:73 axle.
Based on my own experience, a 35' TT is just to long to comfortable tow with a 1/2 pick up. I've been there, done that and would not recommend it.

2015 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, SRW, Duramax, CC, SB (payload 3700)