Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Tires, Tires, Tires!
Click Here to Login

Old 05-17-2016, 06:40 PM   #1
Wildhorse

Tire temps.

Anybody have a reference to tire temp charts or data so that I have an idea what is acceptable while towing? I'm new to this and have been convinced to keep speeds down, but to still fear OEM tires.

On our first significant trip I'm seeing tire sidewall temps around 113-116f but don't know how to interpret this info.

Yesterday a 2012 Fuzion pulled into the campground and parked 4 spots down from us. The passenger side is blown out of it from a tire coming apart. I talked to him at length about it and he was going 60 mph when the event happened. I don't know anything regarding his care of the tires, or the mileage, but I can see the damage to his Trailer and want to be proactive. His tires were also a different brand than mine FWIW. He told me the car behind him was damaged from flying debris.

Thank you for any insight on temps as a method of predicting problems if it is indeed valid.
Wildhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 07:39 PM   #2
sourdough
Site Team

I don't know what your trailer is or your tire size. I just pulled from TX to FL pulling a Cougar High Country, GVW 10,000lbs. I checked my tires at each fuel stop. I check wheel, backplate, hub, spindle etc. with an infrared temp gun. I had nothing over 127 degrees on the trip.

The tire situation you witnessed could have been from a multitude of reasons and tire temp (inflation) may or may not have been the reason.

Many tire failures are caused by under inflation, running too fast, tires too old, overweight and on, and on. Your situation is best handled by you while taking into account ALL the aspects listed on this forum...just do a search on tires.
sourdough is offline   Reply With Quote