Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 01-15-2011, 08:41 AM   #1
dherod

Lug Nuts Question

Hi - new to towing. Been reading the manuals and there seems to be a lot of emphasis on the TT lug nuts being tightened correctly. I've been driving a car for close to 40 years and never really worried about the lug nuts other than to make sure they were tight when I changed a flat.

Is all the emphasis due to legal issues (e.g. stop after 50 miles and make sure they are x foot pounds) - or is this really something about trailer towing that I need to pay attention to?

If so, I'll buy a torque wrench and follow the guidelines. Especially since I'm new at this - I want to make sure I do everything safely.

Thanks - Dan
dherod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 09:13 AM   #2
hankpage
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by dherod View Post

Is all the emphasis due to legal issues (e.g. stop after 50 miles and make sure they are x foot pounds) - or is this really something about trailer towing that I need to pay attention to?

If so, I'll buy a torque wrench and follow the guidelines. Especially since I'm new at this - I want to make sure I do everything safely.

Thanks - Dan
Dan, The difference between a trailer and a car is the side-ward stress from turning a dual axle trailer. This is also why ST trailer tires are designed to handle more lateral movement or scrubbing than LT or P metric grade tires.
It is just a good practice to check wheels and tires before each trip and frequently during a long trip .... it avoids any surprises. I know it helps me relax a little more knowing everything on my rig is in good condition. ...... Now all I have to worry about is the other loose nuts behind the wheel driving around me.
Once you make it a routine it's easy, Hank