Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 07-17-2020, 03:54 PM   #1
fivelco7

Generator use

Hello all. I am new to the 50amp dual a/c system. I always had 30amp single a/c system. So I’m looking for a new decent quiet generator to run the 15k btu and 13k btu a/c’s. Any recommendations on this would be helpful. Tell me what y’all use and if you like it.
Thanks Jason
fivelco7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2020, 05:12 AM   #2
MarkEHansen

Welcome to the forum!

I don't have a generator yet, but I've been shopping for some time.

For RV use, you really need an Inverter generator, and it needs to be quiet to be allowed in many public camping areas.

These generators go up to about 4k watts and provide a 30 amp outlet. To get enough power to be able to run both air conditioners at the same time, you would need to get two of these generators and connect them together (with a separate accessory cable). This results in a lot of up-front cost.

You may want to consider that when running on the generator, do you really need both air conditioners? If you can get by with running just one at a time, then you can use a single generator.

Here are some that I've been looking at:

https://www.electricgeneratorsdirect...or/p81924.html
https://www.amazon.com/WEN-56380i-38.../dp/B07PTNTRRJ
https://www.cummins.com/generators/o...able-generator

Good luck in your search.
Old 07-18-2020, 05:29 AM   #3
flybouy
Site Team

Generators are rated in amps. You'll typically see two ratings, running amps and surge amps. To get the watts needed use ohm's law which the applicable part would be amps X volts = watts. So 50 amps X 120 volts = 6000 watts.