Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Keystone Questions
Click Here to Login

Old 05-08-2011, 06:16 AM   #1
ginger2000

A/C starts running when furnace kicks on

I am not sure if this is normal. I just purchased a new fifth wheel. When I turn the thermostat to heat the A/C unit kicks on as well as the furnace. The AC is pumping out cold air and is competing with furnace. It does not seem right to me. Please advise.

Thank you,
ginger2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 07:24 AM   #2
Paddler

Hi Ginger,
I'm no expert so take anything I post with a grain of salt. I agree with you, the AC should not be running when you have set the thermostat for heat. Now, one possible explaination might be...your thermostat thinks you have a heat pump/AC unit? You might want to check your circuit breakers to see if a breaker marked heat pump has tripped. (Assuming there is a seperated breaker for the aux heating strip) If not, a temporary fix would be the turn off the circuit breaker for the AC unit, until you can take the RV to a dealer. Oh if you tell us the make and model of your RV, maybe someone else has one and can be more helpful.
Best wishes,
Old 05-08-2011, 11:22 AM   #3
hankaye

Ginger, Howdy;

A few more specifics would also be helpful...
in addition to what year , make, model, etc...

How long have you owned the trailer?

If a new one you should talk to the dealer, if used, well, you have found a place where there are quite a few knowledgeable folks here that may be able to help you along.

Remember, the more information you give us the better we can help YOU.

hankaye
hankaye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 04:17 PM   #4
MILBY

Furn/AC