Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Keystone RV Forums > Keystone Tech Forums > Towing
Click Here to Login

Old 05-12-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
boiler27

Hitch suggestions for Cougar 307BHS

My family and I plan to pick up our 09 Cougar 307BHS travel trailer in a week or so. I drive a tractor trailer for a living, but have never pulled a travel trailer of this size and could sure use some advice on a hitch setup. My tow vehicle is an 07 Ram 2500, 4x4 Quad Cab, short bed, 6.7 Cummins, 6spd auto. Thanks for the input, I've read a lot on this forum already and figured advice from someone with a similar setup would help a whole lot!
boiler27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 04:54 PM   #2
SteveC7010

Quote:
Originally Posted by boiler27 View Post
My family and I plan to pick up our 09 Cougar 307BHS in a week or so. I drive a tractor trailer for a living, but have never pulled a travel trailer of this size and could sure use some advice on a hitch setup. My tow vehicle is an 07 Ram 2500, 4x4 Quad Cab, short bed, 6.7 Cummins, 6spd auto. Thanks for the input, I've read a lot on this forum already and figured advice from someone with a similar setup would help a whole lot!
Not being familiar with every model from every year from every product line, I had to do some hunting to figure that this a TT and not a fifth wheeler. Just pointing that it's easier to answer a question when all the info is on the table up front.

Your 307BHS is a 35 foot travel trailer with a GVWR of 11,000# and a factory hitch weight of 840#. Actual tongue weight should be 12 to 15% of loaded weight. That means you do all your calculations and product searches based on GVWR only.